Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Gray, Sanderson, Pearce added to lineup for NWCA All-Star Classic in Lancaster, Pa., Jan. 29

The National Wrestling Coaches Association has announced three lineup changes for the 34th Annual National Wrestling Coaches Association All-Star Classic. A spectacular lineup of talented Div. I college wrestling stars will compete Monday, January 29 at 7:30 p.m. at Mayser Gym at Franklin and Marshall College in Lancaster, Pa. At 141 pounds, Shawn Gray of Virginia Tech will wrestle, replacing Michael Lightner of Oklahoma. Gray will battle top-ranked Doug Schwab of Iowa in the meet. Gray holds a No. 4 national ranking in the most recent Amateur Wrestling News selections. At 157 pounds, Cole Sanderson of Iowa State will compete and will face Yoshi Nakamura of Pennsylvania. He replaces Bryan Snyder of Nebraska, who is unable to participate. Sanderson joins his younger brother Cael, a two-time NCAA champion at 184 pounds, in the lineup. Cole Sanderson is ranked No. 7 in the nation. At 285 pounds, Josh Pearce of Edinboro has been added to the lineup, and will face top-ranked Tommy Rowlands of Ohio State. Pearce replaces the injured Ryan Kehler of West Virginia. Pearce is ranked No. 11 nationally. This annual extravaganza features many of the best athletes in each weight class in college wrestling competing in challenge matches. This event often affects the top individual ranking in the nation at each weight class. Five past NCAA Div. I individual champions will participate in the event: Eric Juergens of Iowa at 133 pounds, Doug Schwab of Iowa at 141 pounds, Don Pritzlaff of Wisconsin at 165 pounds, Cael Sanderson of Iowa State at 184 pounds and Brad Vering of Nebraska at 197 pounds. Sanderson, a junior, is a two-time NCAA champion and has still never lost a college match. He set the NCAA record for consecutive victories of 101 straight wins during the Cliff Keen/NWCA National Dual Meet Championships at Penn State on January 20, and has run his record to 105-0 so far. Seven No. 1 ranked wrestlers will participate, based on the January 23 Amateur Wrestling News rankings. They include Juergens, Schwab, Sanderson, Vering, Joe Heskett of Iowa State at 165 pounds, Josh Koscheck of Edinboro at 174 pounds and Tommy Rowlands of Ohio State at heavyweight. Tickets to the NWCA All-Star Classic are $12 per person. Make checks payable to Franklin and Marshall College. For more information, call the Franklin and Marshall ticket office at 717-291-4359. Tickets are still available. Space is limited as the capacity for the arena is approximately 2,600 spectators. Fans should order their tickets right away. Coaches gain free admission to a special Dan Gable and Brandon Slay Clinic on Sunday, by purchasing 35 All-Star Classic tickets. (Payment for the 35 tickets must be made by January 23, and is limited to the first 50 coaches who purchase the ticket minimum). Tickets for the Dan Gable and Brandon Slay Clinic are $10 for adults and $5 for students (18 and under). NWCA ALL-STAR CLASSIC LINEUP at Lancaster, Pa., January 29 Lineup changes 157 lbs. - No. 5 Yoshi Nakamura (Pennsylvania) vs. No. 7 Cole Sanderson (Iowa State) 285 lbs. - No. 1 Tommy Rowlands (Ohio State) vs. No. 11 Josh Pearce (Edinboro) 141 lbs. - No. 1 Doug Schwab (Iowa) vs. No. 4 Shawn Gray (Virginia Tech) Remainder of the lineup 125 lbs. - No. 2 Jody Strittmatter (Iowa) vs. No. 6 A.J. Grant (Michigan) 133 lbs. - No. 1 Eric Juergens (Iowa) vs. No. 4 Todd Beckerman (Nebraska) 149 lbs. - No. 4 Dave Esposito (Lehigh) vs. No. 14 Jamarr Billman (Lock Haven) 149 lbs. - No. 5 Eric Schmeising (Hofstra) vs. No. 10 Marc Hoffer (American) 157 lbs. - Isaiah Hankel (Franklin and Marshall) vs. Mike Bookwalter (Millersville) 165 lbs. - No. 1 Joe Heskett (Iowa State) vs. No. 2 Don Pritzlaff (Wisconsin) 174 lbs. - No. 1 Josh Koscheck (Edinboro) vs. No. 2 Otto Olson (Michigan) 184 lbs. - No. 1 Cael Sanderson (Iowa State) vs. No. 3 Daniel Cormier (Oklahoma State) 197 lbs. - No. 1 Brad Vering (Nebraska) vs. No. 4 Mark Munoz (Oklahoma State) Note - Rankings are Amateur Wrestling News rankings of January 23 Honorary Coaches - Greg Strobel, Lehigh; Roger Reina, Pennsylvania; Steve Strellner, Montclair State; David James, Central Oklahoma
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.