Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

All-Star Lineups Set for Wrestling Classic

Event Website
MANHEIM, Pa. - The National Wrestling Coaches Association has announced the lineups for the 40th annual NWCA All-Star Classic presented by the United States Marine Corps to be held inside Oklahoma Statešs Gallagher-Iba Arena in Stillwater, Okla. on Nov. 21.

Twenty All-Americans will be wrestling, including five defending national champions. Two weight classes will have a rematch of the 2005 national title match. Host Oklahoma State will be represented by its four returning champions. Oklahoma will send three wrestlers to Stillwater to compete in the event as well.

Oklahomašs two-time All-American Sam Hazewinkel will meet Michigan Statešs Nick Simmons. This is a rematch of the consolation final that Hazewinkel won at the 2005 NCAA Championships. Hazewinkel defeated Simmons, 2-0, in last yearšs All-Star Classic.

In a rematch of last yearšs national title match at 141, two-time national champion Teyon Ware of Oklahoma will meet Big 12 rival and two-time Big 12 champion Nate Gallick of Iowa State.

OSUšs defending national champion at 149, Zack Esposito, will square off with Hofstrašs three-time All-American Jon Masa. Esposito defeated Masa four times last season, including the national quarterfinals. Masa went on to finish third in the tournament. Masa is the only wrestler not represented by the Big Ten or the Big 12.

Johny Hendricks is the second Cowboy to take the mat. Hendricks, a two-time All-American and defending national champion at 165, will face Michiganšs Ryan Churella in a rematch of last yearšs national semifinal.

It will be Bedlam at 197 when OSUšs two-time national champion Jake Rosholt will meet OUšs Joel Flaggert. Rosholt won his second national title last season, while Flaggert went on to earn his first All-America honor with a fourth-place finish. Rosholt won their only meeting last season with a major decision in a dual back in December.

Steve Mocco will be the last Oklahoma State wrestler to trot out onto the mat when he faces Minnesotašs Cole Konrad in a rematch of last yearšs national title match. Mocco beat Konrad three times last season, all in overtime.

At 133, Minnesotašs Mack Reiter will square off against Darrell Vasquez of Cal Poly. Reiter finished fourth last season, while Vazquez took the year off due to an illness. Vasquez finished sixth at the 2004 NCAA Championships.

Returning national runner-up Joe Johnston of Iowa will meet Illinoisš two-time All-American Alex Tirapelle. Johnston defeated Tirapelle, two-time Big Ten champion, in the quarterfinals of the NCAA Tournament. Tirapelle is the only wrestler in the classic who did not place in the 2005 NCAA Tournament.

Two more Iowa Hawkeyes will be wrestling at consecutive weights. Stillwater native Mark Perry will take the mat at 174. Perry, 2005 national runner-up at 165, will face Northwesternšs Jake Herbert. Herbert is coming off of a third-place finish at the NCAA Championships.

Paul Bradley will be the third Hawkeye to take the mat when he faces Illinoisš Pete Friedl. Bradley finished fifth at the 2005 NCAA Championships, while Friedl is bumping up a weight after he finished fourth at 174.

Central Oklahomašs Josh Leadingfox will take on three-time national champion Les Sigman of Nebraska-Omaha in the NWCA All-Star Classicšs traditional exhibition match. The honorary coaches for the event are OSUšs own John Smith, Northwesternšs Tim Czyewski, Dana Collegešs Steve Costanzo and Labette Community Collegešs Joe Renfro.

40th Annual NWCA All-Star Classic Presented by the Unites States Marine Corps Gallagher-Iba Arena - Stillwater, Okla.
November 21, 2005
125- Sam Hazewinkel (Oklahoma) vs. Nick Simmons (Michigan State)
133- Darrell Vasquez (Cal Poly) vs. Mack Reiter (Minnesota)
141- Teyon Ware (Oklahoma) vs. Nate Gallick (Iowa State)
149- Zack Esposito (Oklahoma State) vs. Jon Masa (Hofstra)
157- Joe Johnston (Iowa) vs Alex Tirapelle (Illinois)
165- Johny Hendricks (Oklahoma State) vs. Ryan Churella (Michigan)
174- Mark Perry (Iowa) vs. Jake Herbert (Northwestern)
184- Paul Bradley (Iowa) vs. Pete Friedl (Illinois)
197- Jake Rosholt (Oklahoma State) vs. Joel Flaggert (Oklahoma)
285- Steve Mocco (Oklahoma State) vs. Cole Konrad (Minnesota) Exhibition
285: Josh Leadingfox (Central Oklahoma) vs. Tervel Diagnev
Note: Lineup is subject to change.

2004 Results
At Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville
125 Sam Hazewinkel (Oklahoma) Defeated Nick Simmons (Michigan State), 2-0
133 Mark Jayne (Illinois) Defeated Sam Hiatt (Northern Illinois), 3-1
141 Teyon Ware (Oklahoma) Defeated Cory Cooperman (Lehigh), 2-1 OT
149 Zack Esposito (Oklahoma State) Defeated Dustin Manotti (Cornell), 8-3
157 Jake Percival (Ohio University) Defeated Ryan Bertin (Michigan), 11-7
165 Troy Letters (Lehigh) Defeated David Bolyard (Central Michigan), 3-2
174 Chris Pendleton (Oklahoma State) Defeated Ben Askren (Missouri), 6-3
184 Greg Jones (West Virginia) Defeated Paul Bradley (Iowa), 3-2
197 J.D. Bergman (Ohio State) Defeated Scott Barker (Oregon), 8-3
285 Steve Mocco (Oklahoma State) Defeated Cole Konrad (Minnesota), 2-1 OT
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.