Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

John Smith, Andy Hrovat to appear at Michigan Wrestling Association clinic and banquet

There will be no shortage of big names at the Michigan Wrestling Association's World Champion Clinic and Hall of Fame Banquet.

Oklahoma State coach John Smith, U.S. World Team member Andy Hrovat and U.S. National Team member Jared Frayer each are scheduled to conduct clinics during the event on Friday and Saturday, Nov. 3-4, in Lansing, Mich.

Smith, a four-time World Champion and two-time Olympic Gold Medalist, has led Oklahoma State to the past four NCAA team titles. Smith is scheduled to conduct an afternoon clinic on Nov. 3.

Hrovat, who competed at 84 kg/185 pounds in freestyle at the World Championships last month in Guangzhou, China, also is scheduled to do a clinic on Nov. 3. Frayer, second to eventual World Champion Bill Zadick in freestyle at 66 kg/145.5 pounds at the 2006 U.S. World Team Trials, is scheduled to put on a clinic on Saturday morning, Nov. 4.

The event will be held at the Holiday Inn South in Lansing. Jon Hayden, organizer of the event, said coaches can sign up at the door for the event. Cost is $125 apiece. Hayden said any coach that signs up can bring 10 of their own wrestlers to the event for free.

Contact Hayden by e-mail at for more information.

The event also will honor the state high school coaches and assistant coaches of the year, along with the new Hall of Fame inductees.

High school coaches of the year include Todd Cheney of Hartland, Brian Martel of Mason, Dave Robertson of Corunna and Rick Sherry of Addison. Assistant coaches of the year include Cory Kuzinski of Lake Orion, Chris McDevitt of Oxford, Jerry Curby of Hillsdale and Jeremy C. Sampson of Sanford Meridian.

Hall of Fame inductees include John Fisher of the University of Michigan along with Tom Fritz of Novi, Ron Helmboldt of Sparta, Jerry Marszalek of Fordson and Mike Rodriguez of Detroit Catholic Central.
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.