Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

New book - 'Legends of the Mat' - offers biographies of Greatest Wrestlers in American History

NEWTON, Iowa - The stories of 34 of the greatest wrestlers in American history are told in the new book, Legends of the Mat, published by Culture House Books.

Among the wrestling stars profiled in the book are recent Olympic champions Rulon Gardner and Cael Sanderson, and champions from the past such as Doug Blubaugh (1960), Dan Gable (1972), Ben and John Peterson (1972 and 1976), Dave and Mark Schultz (1984) and John Smith (1992 and 1996).

"I wrote this book to give wrestling fans a look at the careers of true wrestling legends," said author Mike Chapman. "I have long felt that many of the sport's finest stars have been overlooked. John Smith and Bruce Baumgartner have had amazing careers, and yet there isn't a book that tells their stories in any detail.

"This is my way of paying tribute to them."

The book features over 70 photos, many of them rare and seldom seen.

Others profiled in the book are Lee Kemp, Bill Koll, Terry McCann, Bill Smith, Rick Sanders, Kenny Monday, Dan Hodge, Ed and Lou Banach, Glen Brand, Randy Lewis, Henry Wittenberg, Robin Reed, Gray Simons, Stanley and Josiah Henson, Kevin Jackson, Wayne Baughman, Bobby Douglas, Jack VanBebber, Wade Schalles, Earl Caddock and Chris Taylor.

Chapman is considered one of the nation's top wrestling historians. He has attended 35 NCAA championships and two Olympic Games. He has been named National Wrestling Writer of the Year five times, by four different organizations. He is the author of 19 books, 13 of which are about wrestling. He is the founder of WIN magazine, the WIN Memorabilia Show, the Dan Hodge Trophy and the Dan Gable International Wrestling Institute and Museum in Waterloo, Iowa.

The large, hardbound book sells for $35, plus $7 shipping and handling. Discounts are available for orders of 10 books or more. For more information, call Culture House Books at 641-791-3072.
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.