Kids, Cadet, Junior Folkstyle Special Section" /> Wisconsin's Jesse Thielke wins Ultimate Dominator Award to cap final day of ASICS/USA Wrestling Folkstyle Nationals | - USA Wrestling Kids, Cadet, Junior Folkstyle Special Section">
Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Wisconsin's Jesse Thielke wins Ultimate Dominator Award to cap final day of ASICS/USA Wrestling Folkstyle Nationals

Kids, Cadet, Junior Folkstyle Special Section

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa - It was the biggest turnout in the history of the ASICS/USA Wrestling Folkstyle National Championships.

And as the last mats were rolled up early Sunday afternoon, the three-day event had to be considered nothing short of a success.

There were a total of 113 national champions crowned in seven different age divisions over the weekend as a busy and entertaining tournament of wrestling concluded Sunday at the UNI-Dome. A record 2,145 contestants strapped on singlets and competed in the event.

The tournament finished Sunday with the final Kids champions being crowned in the Bantam, Midget, Novice and Schoolboy divisions.

The tournament concluded with Wisconsin's Jesse Thielke winning the Ultimate Dominator Award as the top point scorer in USA Wrestling's ASICS Ultimate Challenge Series.

The popular youth folkstyle series, in its 5th season, includes ten quality events. It culminates each year with USA Wrestling's Folkstyle National Championships in Cedar Falls. The Ultimate Challenge Series runs from October through April.

Thielke, a Triple Crown winner last year in the Schoolboy division, won the first nine events of the Ultimate Challenge Series this season. He then placed second to double Cadets National champion Ryan Mango of Missouri on Saturday afternoon at the Folkstyle Nationals. Mango edged Thielke 11-9 in a thrilling finals match in the Cadet class at 98 pounds.

Thielke won the Ultimate Dominator Award with 16,800 points. Thielke also won Division 4 of the Ultimate Challenge Series with his total of 16,800. Ryne Cokeley of Kansas was second in Division 4 with 12,000 points and Hunter Weber of Wisconsin was third with 11,900.

Blake Glogouski of Indiana won Division I with 9,800 points, followed by Nathan Walton of Indiana with 8,800 and Brayton Lee of Indiana with 8,700. In Division 2, Michael Johnson Jr. of Illinois was first with 15,000 points, James Rothwell of Colorado was second with 10,400 and Austin Reynolds of California third with 8,600. Johnson won the Ultimate Dominator Award in 2006.

Noah Teaney of Missouri won Division 3 of the Ultimate Challenge Series with 11,600 points. Jordan Wigger of South Carolina was second with 8,500 and Travis Hasselbeck of Louisiana was third with 5,500.


Bantam National Champions
40 - Briar Hass of X-Factor Elite Wrestling Club (WI)
45 - Joseph Harrison of Challengers (NE)
50 - Curtis Lemair of Prior Lake (MN)
55 - Izzak Olejnik of Razorbacks (CA)
60 - Jarel Arbegast of Odebolt Mat Rats (IA)
65 - Billy Pitzner of Fort Atkinson (WI)
70 - Nathan Walton of Red Cobra Wrestling (IN)
75 - Jared Florell of Forest Lake (MN)
75+ - Max Darrah of Unattached
75++ - Brady Shepherd of Indiana (IN)

Midget National Champions
50 - Blake Glogouski of TALON (IN)
55 - Austin Gomez of Gomez Wrestling Academy (IL)
60- Frankie Bruno of Brandon Wrestling Club (FL)
65 - Jon Mudlaff of Team Adrenaline (WI)
70 - Dominic Sutermeister of CMS (MI)
75 - Chase Shiltz of High Altitude (IA)
80 - Mark Hall Ii of CMS (MI)
87 - Jason Toshner of Fondy Wrestling Club (WI)
95 - Lance Benick of Forest Lake (MN)
103 - Jamiir Moore of Unattached
112 - Austin Reynols of Crazy Wolf (CA)
120 - Donovan Perkins of Ascension Wrestling Club (LA)
120+ - Zach Wolf of Darlington Wrestling Club (WI)
120++ - Jacob Marnin of Unattached

Novice National Champions
60 - Dante` Rodriguez of Golden Eagles Wrestling Academy (NE)
65 - Dylan Lucas of Brandon Wrestling Club (FL)
70 - Noah Teaney of Unattached
75 - James Rothwell of Unattached
80 - Daniel Lewis of Western Stars (MO)
85 - Dylan Milonas of Pascack Hills (NJ)
90 - Richard Robertson of Unattached
95 - Dani Fischer of Touch of Gold (WY)
100 - Adam Drain of West Burlington (IA)
105 - Jordan Ellingwood of Suburban Prairie Training Center (IL)
112 - Michael Johnson of Unattached
120 - Dustin Fuller of Northern Storm (IA)
130 - Mitch Sliga of CIA (IN)
140 - Nick Cobb of Best Trained (TX)
140+ - Jake Scanlan of Team Porcelli (IA)
140++ - Trevor Gorr of Monroe Mat Rats (WI)

Schoolboy National Champions
70 - Jarred Brooks of Unattached
75 - Dylan Peters of Unattached
80 - Alfredo Rodriguez of Holt Wrestling Club (MI)
85 - Brandon Sorensen of Cedar Valley Mat Club (IA)
90 - Alex Dieringer of Ringers Elite (WI)
95 - Devon Gobbo of Pascack Hills (NJ)
100 - Aaron Hansen of Citadel (SC)
105 - Matthew Kelliher of Apple Valley Wrestling Club (MN)
110 - Willie Miklus of Higher Power Wrestling School (IA)
115 - Rylan Lubeck of Wisconsin Rapids (WI)
120 - Jake Waste of Pinnacle (MN)
125 - John Sims of Mater Dei (IN)
130 - Mitchell Wightman of Warwick (NY)
135 - Devin Peterson of Wisconsin Rapids (WI)
145 - Jason Luster of TWC-Georgia (GA)
165 - Zack Rutt of Le Center (MN)
185 - Trevor Landon of Lancaster Wrestling Club (WI)
205 - Donny Longendyke of White Bear Ice (MN)
225 - Conor Mchale of Orland Park Pioneers (IL)
250 - Cody Carlisle of Itasca Titans (MN)
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.