Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Eight double champions were crowned at Veterans Nationals after winning freestyle titles

LAS VEGAS, NEV. - The Veterans Nationals concluded Thursday night with several returning champions and double champions.

There were eight wrestlers that were crowned double champions, winning in both Greco-Roman and freestyle. Those participants include:

- Ben McCrillis of New England All-Stars, Div. A at 214 lbs.
- Michael Tuck of Central KC, Dec. B at 127.75 lbs.
- David Nowick of Team Gumby, Div. B at 138.5 lbs.
- Mark Levasseur of Minnesota Storm, Div. C at 127.75 lbs.
- Jim Lucas of Spartan WC, Div. E at 152 lbs.
- John Matthews of TWC, Div. E at 187.25 lbs.
- Robert Musante of Sheriff's League, Div. E at 187.25 lbs.
- Rex Febus of Pitbull WC, Div. E at 286.5 lbs.

In addition, five wrestlers were return champions from last year in the veteran's freestyle competition. Those winners include:

- Mark Levasseur of Minnesota Storm, Div. C at 127.75 lbs.
- Robert Wimberley of Dr. Funk, Div. C at 138.5 lbs.
- J.D. Hawkins of Team Jesus, Div. D at 152 lbs.
- Shirzad Ahmadi of Hoji's Club, Div. E at 138.5 lbs.
- Jim Lucas of Spartan WC, Div. E at 152 lbs.

The biggest change in the program is the new age groups this year: Div. A (25-32 years), Div. B (33-40 years), Div. C (41-48 years), Div. D (49-55 years) and Div E (56 years and over).

Other winners in Div. A included K.C. Rock (152), Luke Santos (167.5), Matthieu Burkett-Erice (187.25) and Matt Hoover (286.5).

Hoover was the winner of "The Biggest Loser" in the show's second season. This is the first time he has wrestled in ten years. Hoover beat Carlos Dolmo, 0-2, 7-5, 3-0, to win the title at 286.5 lbs.

Mireles won by technical fall over Bryan Lindsey, 6-0, 7-0 and decisioned Alex Porcelli, 3-0, 3-0 to win in Div. B at 214 lbs.

Nowick defeated Jasen Baril of Vegas West by technical fall, 7-0, 6-0 to win at 138.5 lbs. in Div. B.

Other winners in Div. B included John Short (152), Michael Kelly (167.5), Matthew Ciccarello (187.25), Mark Mireles (214) and Tyrone Abercrombie (286.5)

In Div. C, Wimberley pinned Dave Watase in the second at 45 seconds and decisioned Randy Geiger 5-2, 6-0 to take the title. Wimberley also won last year in Div. C at 152 lbs.

Winners in Div. C included Anibal Nieves (152), J.T. Petty (167.5)and James Phills (286.5).

Frank Clementi won Div. D at 127.75 lbs. by pinning Harold Lorber in the second period at 0:26. Clementi also defeated Kevin Ida 0-1, 1-0, 4-1.

Other winners in Div. D were Steve Burkman (138.5), Bruce Moe (167.5), (187.25), Michael Paquette (214) and Assadollah Mohmmadi (286.5).

Fred Jahad who wrestled at 167.5 in Div. E pinned both of his opponents. In 43 seconds, Jahad pinned Jeff Zaiontz. Jahad took down Kenneth Peters in the second at 1:21.

Shirzad Ahmadi was the winner of Div. E at 138.5 lbs.
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.