Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Six wrestlers named double champions as Western Junior Regionals ends

The Western Junior Regionals finished on Friday with champions crowned in the freestyle competition.

Six wrestlers were double champions, when they won both Greco-Roman and freestyle championships. Those winners included:

- David Taylor of Ohio at 105 lbs.
- Jordan O'Neal of Nevada at 112 lbs.
- Eric Grajales of Florida at 125 lbs.
- Norman Richmond of Oregon at 135 lbs.
- Jake Salazar of Utah at 145 lbs.
- Tyrell Fortune of Oregon at 215 lbs.

Grajales was named Outstanding Wrestler in the tournament. He pinned Jeremy Goree of Oklahoma in the first period at 1:20. Grajales is the 2006 Junior National Champion, the Outstanding Wrestling award in the 2006 FILA Junior National Championships and the Junior Wrestler of the Year, all in Greco-Roman.

Taylor, a Cadet National double champion last year defeated Sharky Slyter of Kansas by technical fall, 7-0, 7-0.

In addition to the six double champions, two wrestlers were repeat champions from last year, Tony Ramos of Illinois at 119 lbs. and Dom Bradley of Missouri at 285 lbs.

Ramos beat Andrew Long of Iowa in the finals, 3-1, 3-1, to win the finals at 119 lbs.
Bradley won his match when he pinned Bubba Owens of Oregon in 20 seconds.

In the 152 lbs. match, Andrew Howe of Indiana beat Trevor Hall of Washington 1-0, 4-2. Hall was the winner of last year's Regional at 145 lbs.

Kyle De Berry of Arizona beat Travis Rutt of Minnesota in 46 seconds to win the 160 lbs. final.

Other winners from the day included: Max Nowry of Illinois (98 lbs.), Nate Moore of Iowa (130), Matt Brown of Utah (140), Jordan Blanton of Illinois (171) and Brodie Ambrose of Iowa (189).
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.