Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

U.S. Sombo Association names its 2006 annual award winners

Man of the Year: Gary Abbott (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Works as USA Wrestling's Director of Communications and Special Projects. Attended every major Sombo event in the U.S. last year and the World Championships in Turkey. A strong supporter within USA Wrestling who provided more publicity for Sombo than ever before with pre-release, results, web results and a personal blog at the World Championships, as well as serving as pairing master at the Pan Am Trials and Team leader at the World Championships. He was invaluable inside USA Wrestling in supporting Sombo and his blog from Turkey was one of the best public relations successes we have had in a long time.

Woman of the Year: Stephanie Matsumoto (Chula Vista, Calif.)
Handled pairing for the Sombo Nationals last year and, together with her husband, generated support and enthusiasm by providing shirts and pins at their expense to officials. Stephanie and De Heyman both paired and were among the few non-Athlete women involved in Sombo nationally.

Contributor of the Year: Shawn Sheldon (West Palm Beach, Fla.)
Coordinated the 2006 Nationals with the Palm Beach Sports Commission and produced a very solid event.

Coach of the Year: Floyd Winter (Fort Dix, N.J.)
Veteran coach of the 1980's and former national Sombo champion and U.S. Army coach who coached national championship teams and several U.S. international teams. Winter returned to Sombo to support its reintegration into FILA and USA Wrestling. Coached the U.S. Team to its first-ever second place in FILA competition. Also coached the first U.S. FILA World Champion since 1983.

Official of the Year: Rusty Davidson (Grants, N.M.)
Officiated the U.S. Nationals and World Championships in Turkey.

Athletes of the Year

Men: Jeff Zastrow (Whitewater, Wis./Warhawk WC)

2006 FILA World Champion. USA's first since 1983. Second at 2006 U.S. Sombo Nationals

Women: Leigh Jaynes (Colorado Springs, Colo./U.S. Army)
2006 National Champion and FILA World Bronze medalist.
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.