Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Historic week as 24 wrestlers take part in inaugural Dave Schultz Excellence Camp

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - It was a historic week at the U.S. Olympic Training Center as 24 Dave Schultz Excellence Award winners participated in the inaugural Dave Schultz Excellence Camp from June 18-21.

The camp, held at the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, provided the participants with the opportunity to train in the world-class facility.

The camp, funded by a grant received by the National Wrestling Hall of Fame, included both classroom and wrestling technique sessions. Classroom sessions included presentations from OTC staff on sports psychology, and strength and conditioning. The athletes who took part in the camp are recent high school graduates.

In addition to the OTC staff, other distinguished Americans spoke to the campers. Jim Scherr, Executive Director of the U.S. Olympic Committee, welcomed the wrestlers to the OTC. In addition, he also spoke about the history of the Olympics and stressed the importance of having and following a dream. Scherr is a past World silver medalist and 1988 Olympian.

Lee Roy Smith, Executive Director of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame and Museum, spoke to the wrestlers about the meaning of the Dave Schultz Excellence Award. Smith is a past World silver medalist.

Jeff Levitetz, 2004 Olympic Greco-Roman Team Leader, talked about eight key points to success. He also highlighted how wrestling has helped shape his life in the business world. Levitetz impressed upon the attendees how wrestling has helped him to become successful off the mat. Levitetz is founder and owner of Purity Wholesale Grocers.

David Pottruck, former CEO of Charles Schwab and founder of EOS Airlines, stressed how skills learned in wrestling have helped mold him into the business leader he is today. Pottruck informed the group that because of their commitment to excellence in wrestling, they will be much more likely to succeed if they carry over the same commitment to their personal lives.

Wayne Baughman, three-time Olympian and former U.S. Air Force Academy head coach, reflected on his career in the sport. Baughman challenged the athletes to strive to be honest with themselves in their training and every day preparation. Baughman, known for accomplishing many daunting physical tastks, talked of all his great feats, yet shared that they pale in comparison to his involvement in wrestling.

Top-notch clinicians conducted the on-the-mat sessions. Developmental coaches Ike Anderson and Dave Bennett, along with Director of National Teams Mitch Hull, represented USA Wrestling. World Team member Justin Ruiz shared his expertise, as did current U.S. Air Force Academy coach Joel Sharratt.

The Dave Schultz Excellence Award winners were chosen as the sole recipients from their respective states. The award, chosen by the National Wrestling Hall of Fame, is selected based on wrestling and academic success, as well as civic involvement.

Brett Bahe (Great Bend HS, Kansas)
Christopher Bullins (McMichael HS, North Carolina)
Derek Carmichael (Prattville HS, Alabama)
Eren Civan (Walt Whitman HS, Maryland)
Kyle DeBerry (Sunnyside HS, Arizona)
Kelly Felix (Franklin HS, Tennessee)
Hollan Gravley (Colony HS, Alaska)
Christopher Hacker (El Reno HS, Oklahoma)
Dustin Haislip (Musselman HS, West Virginia)
Dorian Henderson (Columbus HS, Georgia)
Evan Hinebauch (Havre HS, Montana)
Ian Hinton (Mishawaka HS, Indiana)
Kelly Kubec (Lake Stevens HS, Washington)
Daniel Meagher (Bow HS, New Hampshire)
Randolyn "Hoku" Nohara (Kamehameha School, Hawaii)
Andy Pokorny (Bennington HS, Nebraska)
Ethan Raymond (Middlebury Union HS, Vermont)
Luke Silver (Bishop Lynch HS, Texas)
Kirk Smith (Centennial HS, Idaho)
Tyler Steinwand (Mandan HS, North Dakota)
Tyler Voth (Paul Dunbar HS, Kentucky)
Shay Warren (Webber HS, Utah)
Douglas Williams (Sanford HS, Maine)
Justin Zeerip (Hesperia HS, Michigan)
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.