Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Finals results from the MatJam tournament in Chapel Hill

CHAPEL HILL --- NC Stateıs Zach Breitenbach defeated Clint Osborn of North Carolina, 8-2, at 197 pounds to clinch the Atlantic Coast Conference wrestling championship for the Wolfpack Saturday evening at UNCıs Carmichael Auditorium. The ACC contested its wrestling championship concurrently with the Colonial Athletic Association and the Southern Conference in Mat Jam, the first event of its kind in collegiate wrestling. Breitenbachıs victory provided the winning margin for the Wolfpack in a tightly contested race with Virginia. The Wolfpack finished with 78.5 points, 5.5 more than the Cavaliers. North Carolina was third with 68 points. The title is the 11th for NC State, all under current head coach Bob Guzzo. It was Stateıs first ACC wrestling crown since 1996, breaking a four-year run by North Carolina. The Pack placed a league-high six wrestlers in the finals. Pierre Pryor won his second title at 157 with an 8-0 major decision over Virginiaıs Don Carlo-Clauss. George Cintron (125), Pryor and Breitenbach won individual titles for the champions. The Pack added three second-place and two third-place finishes. Virginia had two champions, Greg Francesca at 165 and Jimi Massey at 184. The Cavaliers also had three second-place. The victory capped a week for Breitenbach in which he was also inducted into Phi Beta Kappa and was awarded a Weaver-James-Corrigan Postgraduate Scholarship by the ACC. In the Southern Conference Tournament, Appalachian State placed nine wrestlers in the finals en route to its fifth league title, its first since 1996. The Mountaineers had a commanding 26.5-point lead heading into the finals, then won the first three championship bouts at 125, 133 and 141 pounds. Appalachian State totaled 113.5 points, and beat runnerup Chattanooga by 36.5 points. Rich Caisse (125), Travis Drake (133), Jeremy Hart (141), P.J. Boccia (157) and Mark Fee (165) won individual weight classes for the Mountaineers. Hart was named the Southern Conferenceıs Most Outstanding Wrestler. The Mountaineers had five firsts, four seconds and a third-place showing in the 10 weight divisions. George Mason won the Colonial Athletic Association for the fifth time in its history and the first time since 1997. The Patriots placed seven wrestlers in the finals and won championships in five of the first seven weight classes. George Masonıs Sean Early beat Jesse Pearce of Old Dominion, 6-5, with a takedown with just three seconds remaining in the match. In the next weight class, the Patriotsı Tony Howard beat Denis Alampieu of American in double overtime, 4-4. Matt Hunckler (133), Donnie DeFillipis (141), Early (157), Howard (165) and Brent Lancaster (heavyweight) won titles for the Patriots. American Universityıs 149-pounder Mark Hoffer was named Colonial Conference Most Outstanding Wrestler. Host North Carolina had three champions, including JohnMark Bentley at 149 pounds, Corey Bell at 174 pounds and Matt Kenny at heavyweight. Bell became the third four-time ACC champion in Carolina history. Bentley and Kenny won ACC titles for the third time. The only other four-time ACC champions for UNC were Al Palacio (1983, 1985-87 at 118) and Justin Harty (1994-97 at heavyweight). Bentley was named the ACCıs Most Outstanding Wrestler. Atlantic Coast Conference Championship Finals 125- George Cintron (NC State) dec. Tommy Hoang (Duke) 3-1 133- Brandon York (Maryland) dec. Joe Alexander (Virginia) 2-0 141- Mark Mansueto (Maryland) dec. Orafeo Brown (NC State) 5-1 149- JohnMark Bentley (North Carolina) dec. Tommy Davis (NC State) 4-1 157- Pierre Pryor (NC State) major dec. Don Carlo-Clauss (Virginia) 8-0 165- Greg Francesca (Virginia) dec. Tim Marcantonio (Duke) 9-2 174- Corey Bell (North Carolina) dec. Dustin Kawa (NC State) 6-5 184- Jimi Massey (Virginia) dec. Jake Stewart (Maryland) 9-6 197- Zach Breitenbach (NC State) dec. Clint Osborn (North Carolina) 8-2 HWT- Matt Kenny (North Carolina) wins by technical fall vs. Josh Etu (Virginia) 19-3 ACC Team Standings 1. NC State 78.5 2. Virginia 73 3. North Carolina 68 4. Maryland 52.5 5. Duke 34 Colonial Athletic Association Championship Finals 125- Sean Shea (George Mason) dec. Andy Bricker (Campbell) 6-3 133- Matt Hunckler (George Mason) dec. Adam Doherty (Campbell) 6-2 141- Donnie DeFillipis (George Mason) dec. Pat Diaz (James Madison) 6-2 149- Mark Hoffer (American) major dec. Adrian Austin (George Mason) 14-4 157- Sean Early (George Mason) dec. Jesse Pearce (Old Dominion) 6-5 165- Tony Howard (George Mason) defeats Denis Alampieu (American) 4-4, 2 OT 174- Jeff Rusak (Old Dominion) dec. Nathan Rickman (James Madison) 5-3 184- Dave Colabella (James Madison) dec. Matt Small (Old Dominion) 4-2 197- Ryan Pallinger (American) dec. Steve Kodish (James Madison) 3-1 OT HWT- Brent Lancaster (George Mason) wins by fall vs. John Black (Campbell) 4:51 CAA Team Standings 1. George Mason 105.5 2. James Madison 73.5 3. Campbell 61 4. Old Dominion 60 Southern Conference Championship Finals 125- Rich Caisse (Appalachian State) dec. Josh Hooker (Chattanooga) 6-3 133- Travis Drake (Appalachian State) major dec. Oliver Ruiz (VMI) 12-2 141- Jeremy Hart (Appalachian State) dec. Jared Sullivan (Chattanooga) 7-2 149- Adam Britt (VMI) wins by technical fall vs. Davey Blake (Appalachian State) 16-0 157- PJ Boccia (Appalachian State) dec. Robby Bell (The Citadel) 6-1 165- Mark Fee (Appalachian State) dec. Jacob Inge (VMI) 4-1 174- Mike Regner (The Citadel) dec. Quantel Langford (Chattanooga) 3-0 184- Adam Duncan (Chattanooga) dec. Sean McIntosh (Appalachian State) 5-4 197- David Tyner (Chattanooga) dec. Geoff McIntosh (Appalachian State) 1-1, 2OT HWT- John Kimble (UNC Greensboro) dec. Danny Misenheimer (Appalachian State) 3-2 Southern Conference Team Standings 1. Appalachian State 113.5 2. Chattanooga 77 3. VMI 49 4. The Citadel 48.5 5. UNC Greensboro 37.5 6. Davidson 16.5
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.