Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Four Olympic medalists win U.S. Greco-Roman National titles, led by Outstanding Wrestler Matt Lindla

Four past Olympic medalists were among the gold-medalists at the U.S. National Greco-Roman Championships, held at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, Nev., April 13-14. Claiming the Outstanding Wrestler award was 2000 Olympic silver medalist Matt Lindland (Oregon City, Ore./Sunkist Kids) who claimed the 187.25 pound title. Lindland moved up one weight class from last year, and defeated 2000 U.S. Olympic teammate Quincey Clark (Minneapolis, Minn./Minn. Storm), 4-3 in the gold-medal finals. Lindland, a past Pan American Games and World Cup champion, won his fifth U.S. Nationals title. Two other medalists from the 2000 Olympic Games won U.S. Nationals titles: Garrett Lowney (Freedom, Wis./Minn. Storm) at 213.75 pounds and Rulon Gardner, (Afton, Wyo/Sunkist Kids) at 286 pounds. Lowney, a bronze-medalist in Sydney, defeated Jason Loukides (Colorado Springs, Colo./U.S. Army), 3-1 in the finals. It was Lowney's first U.S. Nationals title. Gardner, a 2000 Olympic champion, won his fourth career U.S. Nationals title with a 1-0 overtime referee's decision over Dremiel Byers (Colorado Springs, Colo/U.S. Army). The other Olympic medalist on champion row as 1996 Olympic silver medalist Dennis Hall (Plover, Wis./Sunkist Kids) at 127.75 pounds. Hall defeated 2000 Olympian James Gruenwald (Colorado Springs, Colo./Sunkist Kids), 5-0 in the finals. It was a bit of revenge for Hall, who was beaten by Gruenwald in the 2000 Olympic Trials finals. Another past Olympic who won a U.S. Nationals title was Kevin Bracken (Colorado Springs, Colo/New York AC) at 138.75 pounds. Bracken, who as fifth in the 2000 Sydney Games, beat James Shillow (Quantico, Va./Marines), 6-0 in the finals. It was his third U.S. Nationals crown. Winning a second U.S. Nationals title was Keith Sieracki (Colorado Springs, Colo./U.S. Army) at 167.5 pounds. Sieracki defeated T.C. Dantzler (Colorado Springs, Colo./New York AC), 5-0 in the gold-medal match. Sieracki last won the U.S. Nationals in 1996. First-time U.S. Nationals champions were Jeff Cervone (Colorado Springs, Colo./Air Force) at 119 pounds and Marcel Cooper (Quantico, Va./U.S. Marines) at 152 pounds. Cervone beat two-time Olympian Shawn Sheldon (Colorado Springs, Colo./New York AC) in a 2-1 overtime referee's decision in the finals. Cooper stopped Steven Woods (Colorado Springs, Colo./U.S. Air Force), 2-0 in overtime in the finals. The Most Falls award went to Darnell Lollis (Colorado Springs, Colo./New York AC), who pinned two in 1:52. The Div. I Greco-Roman team title went to the U.S. Army with 49 points, followed by the New York AC with 41 points. The Div. II Greco-Roman Teams title went to the Sunkist Kids with 46 pts., followed by the U.S. Air Force with 23 points.
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.