Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Guilfoyle, Sacco repeat as Senior men’s champions at U.S. Beach Nationals

Mike Morone attempts to throw Collin Martin in their 174-pound match. Morone won the gold medal

ROCHESTER, N.Y. – A pair of Senior men wrestlers won U.S. Beach Nationals wrestling title for the second straight year, with victories at Ontario Beach Park on Saturday.

Repeat Beach National champions were unattached Brian Guilfoyle at 157 pounds and Jamison Sacco of Western New England at heavyweight.

Guilfoyle won all three of his bouts, including a 2-0 victory over runner-up Warner Bouzek of Team Garth. He was a champion last year at 155 pounds.

Sacco stopped unattached Michael Delaney, 2-0, in their championship bout. Sacco competes for Western New England College. Sacco won the 298-pound title last year at the U.S. Beach Nationals.

Mike Morone won a loaded 174-pound division on the Senior level. The top three wrestlers finished with a 1-1 record in the roundrobin, but Morone was declared champion by having the most classification points in the roundrobin. Placing second was 2009 U.S. Beach World Team member Ben Johnstone of RIT, and placing third was 2010 U.S. Beach Nationals champion Collin Martin. Morone was a Veterans champion at the Beach Nationals last year.

Jason Goldman of the Finger Lakes WC, a 2011 USA Wrestling Veterans Nationals champion and a two-time Div. III All-American for Binghamton, won the 151 pound division with four victories.

Other individual Senior men’s champions were Michael Gentilcore of Oswego State at 164 pounds, Mark Collins of Victor WC at 187 pounds and Oleksandr Ievitushenko of the Brooklyn WC at 208 pounds.

Winning a U.S. Women’s Beach Nationals title for the second straight year was Brittney Gearing of Ontario, Canada at 156 pounds. Two other Women’s champions were from Ontario, Canada, 124 – Cierra Carere at 124 pounds and Louise Ward at 135 pounds. The other women’s champion was Donna Rosen at 169 pounds.

Repeating as a Beach Nationals champion in the Junior division was unattached Tristan Hammer at 165 pounds. He was a champion last year at 160 pounds.

Two athletes claimed gold medals in both the Junior and Cadet divisions. Sam Jagas of Ontario, Canada won the Junior 125-pound title and the Cadet 120-pound title. Hobie Strassner of Webster Schroeder was the Junior 140-pound champion and the Cadet 137-pound champion.

On Sunday, the Senior International Beach Cup will be held, alongside the National High School Beach Duals.

At Rochester, N.Y., July 9

2011 Beach National Champions

Senior Men
151 – Jason Goldman (Finger Lakes WC)
157 – Brian Guilfoyle (unattached)
164 – Michael Gentilcore (Oswego State)
174 – Mike Morone (unattached)
187 – Mark Collins (Victor WC)
208 – Oleksandr Ievitushenko (Brooklyn WC)
HWT – Jamison Sacco (Western New England)

Senior Women
124 – Cierra Carere (Ontario)
135 – Louise Ward (Ontario)
156 – Brittany Gearing (Ontario)
169 – Donna Rosen (unattached)

125 – Sam Jagas (Ontario)
140 – Hobie Strassner (Webster Schroeder)
150 – Mike Coffaro (Team Titan)
165 – Tristan Hammer (unattached)
181 – Tom Lombardo (Team Titan)
215 – Jesse Kozub (Empire WC)

97 – Parker Kropman (Titan Worldwide)
120 – Sam Jagas (Ontario)
137 – Hobie Strassner (Webster Schroeder)
146 – Jonathan Post (Webster Thomas)
150 – Ian Salathiel (Team Titan)

90 – Parker Kropman (Titan Worldwide)
120 – Frankie Gissendanner (Team Titan)

156 – Walter Bouzak (unattached)
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.