Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Dream Team Classic will feature many of the nation's top high school wrestlers

Washington’s Jordan Rogers won a silver medal at the Youth Olympic Games in 2010.

Fans heading to Iowa City for the U.S. Olympic Team Trials will have an opportunity to watch some of the nation’s best high school wrestlers compete.

The Dream Team Wrestling Classic is set to take place on Friday night at Iowa City West High School. The dual is scheduled to begin at 7 p.m.

The format will be a dual meet that will match the top Iowa high school seniors against some of the best wrestlers from around the country.

The dual will be a prelude to the Olympic Team Trials, set for Saturday and Sunday at Carver-Hawkeye Arena in Iowa City.

Tickets for the Dream Team Classic are $10.

There will be a live webcast of the dual on

Among the wrestlers expected to compete are University of Iowa recruits Cory Clark, Alex Meyer and Nate Skonieczny.

Clark will face Penn State recruit Jimmy Gulibon at 126 pounds. Gulibon is ranked No. 1 nationally and Clark is ranked third.

The sixth-ranked Meyer will face No. 7 Alex Nevills of Clovis, Calif., at 170. The second-ranked Skonieczny is scheduled to battle Logan Mulnix of North Linn at 138.

Top-ranked Jason Tsirtsis of Indiana, a Junior Nationals champion and Northwestern recruit, will compete against Urbandale’s Gabriel Moreno at 145. Moreno is an Iowa State recruit. Tsirtsis is the brother of past Iowa All-American Alex Tsirtsis.

2011 Junior World Team freestyle member Mark Grey of New Jersey is scheduled to wrestle at 132. Grey, a Cornell recruit, is slated to face Iowa State recruit Dakota Bauer.

Washington’s top-ranked Jordan Rogers, an Oklahoma State recruit, is scheduled to compete at 182. Junior Nationals champion Devin Peterson of Wisconsin is in the dual at 195. The top-ranked Peterson is a Wisconsin recruit.

Among the wrestlers who have competed in the Dream Team event are World silver medalist and NCAA champion Jake Herbert, along with NCAA champions Mark Perry, Troy Letters and Jordan Oliver.

Tentative lineup for Iowa vs. Team USA with Wrestling USA National rankings listed

113 pounds – #3 Phillip Laux (Iowa City West) vs. #6 Gunnar Woodburn (Claremore, Okla.)
120 – #5 Dylan Peters (Denver-Tripoli) vs. #1 George DiCamillo (St. Ignatius, Ohio)
126 – #3 Cory Clark (Southeast Polk) vs. #1 Jimmy Gulibon (Derry, Pa.)
132 – #9 Dakota Bauer (Iowa City West) vs. #3 Mark Grey (Blair Academy, N.J.)
138 – Logan Mulnix (North Linn) vs. #2 Nate Skonieczny – (Walsh Jesuit, Ohio)
145 – #2 Gabriel Moreno (Urbandale) vs. #1 Jason Tsirtsis (Crown Point, Ind.)
152 – #6 Zach Witte (Cedar Rapids Prairie) vs. # 1 Brian Realbuto (Somers, N.Y.)
160 – #12 Justin Koethe (Iowa City West) vs. # 2 Zac Brunson (Winston (Churhill, Ore.)
170 – #6 Alex Meyer (Southeast Polk) vs. # 7 Zach Nevills (Clovis, Calif.)
182 – #11 Jared Bartel (Mason City) vs. # 1 Jordan Rogers (Mead, Wash.)
195 – Tarin Phillips (Valley West Des Moines) vs. # 1 Devin Peterson (Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.)
220 – #1 Willie Miklus (Southeast Polk) vs. # 2 (285) Michael Kroells (Scott West, Minn.)
285 – Collin Bevins (Creston OM) vs. # 4 Austin Goergen (Caledonia, Minn.)
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.