Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

U.S. women's team defeats Sweden in a dual meet in Klippan, Sweden

U.S. Women's team defeats Sweden in a dual meet in Klippan, Sweden, March 9

The U.S. women's team defeated Sweden in a dual meet in Klippan, Sweden, March 9, 16-14. The dual was held prior to the Klippan Ladies Open which will be held March 11-12.

Four members of the U.S. Women's 2000 World Champion team competed in the dual. Stephanie Murata (Boca Raton, Fla./Sunkist Kids) at 112.25 pounds, Tina George-Wilson (Colorado Springs, Colo./Cookies & Cream) at 123.25 pounds, Lauren Lamb (Troy, N.Y./Michigan WC) at 136.5 pounds and Kristie Marano (Albany, N.Y./ATWA) at 149.75 pounds.

Murata won by a technical fall over Ida Hellstrom of Sweden, 10-0 in 5:00. Murata placed fourth in 1998 and 1999 World Championships and is a four-time U.S. Nationals champion (1996-99). She is currently ranked No. 1 in the U.S. at 112.25 pounds.

George-Wilson lost a 9-0 decision to two-time World Champion Sara Eriksson. George placed sixth in the 1999 World Championships.

Lamb won by a technical fall over Lotta Andersson, 10-0 in 5:30. Lamb placed fifth in the 1995, 1997 and 1999 World Championships and is a five-time U.S. Nationals champion. She is currently ranked No. 1 at 136.5 pounds.

Marano lost a close overtime decision, 3-2, to Heidi Skenmark. Marano is wrestling down one weight class, and is ranked No. 1 in the U.S. at 165.25 pounds. She is a four-time World silver-medalist (1996-99) and a four-time U.S. Nationals champion.

1999 U.S. Nationals champion Olivia Ocampo (Oxnard, Calif./UM-Morris) decisioned Therese Riis, 7-5, at 101.25 pounds.

Jenny Wong (Woodbury, Minn./Minnesota Storm) lost a decision to Ida-Therese Karlsson, 8-4, at 112.25 pounds. Wong placed eighth in 1998 FILA Junior World Championships.

Sara McMann (Lock Haven, Pa./Sunkist Kids) pinned Therese Karlsson in 2:34 to add more points for the U.S. McMann is a 2000 Dave Schultz Memorial International champion and a 1999 Sunkist Kids/ASU International Open champion.

Dominique Smalley (Colorado Springs, Colo./Dave Schultz WC) gave the U.S. the win at 165.25 pounds with a 12-8 decision over Cecilia Alenius. Smalley was second in the 2000 Dave Schultz Memorial International.

The U.S. team was coached by Mike Duroe of Colorado Springs, Colo.


at Klippan, Sweden, March 9, 2000

46 kg/101.25 lbs. - Olivia Ocampo, Oxnard, Calif. dec. Therese Riis, Sweden, 7-5

51 kg/112.25 lbs. - Stephanie Murata, Boca Raton, Fla. won by tech. fall over Ida Hellstrom, Sweden, 10-0, 5:00

51 kg/112.25 lbs. - Ida-Therese Karlsson, Sweden dec. Jenny Wong, Woodbury, Minn., 8-4

56 kg/123.25 lbs. - Sara Eriksson, Sweden dec. Tina George-Wilson, Colorado Springs, Colo., 9-0

62 kg/136.5 lbs. - Lauren Lamb, Troy, N.Y. won by tech. fall over Lotta Andersson, Sweden, 10-0, 5:30

62 kg/136.5 lbs. - Sara McMann, Lock Haven, Pa. pinned Therese Karlsson, Sweden, 2:34

68 kg/149.75 lbs. - Heidi Skenmark, Sweden dec. Kristie Marano, Albany, N.Y., 3-2, ot

75 kg/165.25 lbs. - Dominique Smalley, Colorado Springs, Colo. dec. Cecilia Alenius, Sweden, 12-8

Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.