Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Talented lineup set for sold-out NWCA All-Star Classic in Washington, D.C., November 3

WASHINGTON D.C. – 19 Division I All-Americans and three NCAA Champions will highlight the NWCA All-Star Classic presented by the United States Marine Corps as the official line up is set.

The event will be headlined by what fans are calling the match up of the year. Kyle Dake of Cornell University and David Taylor of Penn State University are scheduled to compete at the All-Star Classic at 165 pounds, sponsored by The Meltzer Group.

Both wrestlers were undefeated in the 2011-2012 season and claimed the NCAA Championship title in their respective weight classes. For Dake, he will look to dethrone Taylor at 165 pounds after competing collegiately at 157 pounds last season.

2011 NCAA Champion Quentin Wright of Penn State will compete in his first All-Star Classic in an all Pennsylvania match against 2012 All-American Matt Wilps of Penn State.

Dake and Wright will both be looking to becoming four time All-Americans this season.

The 174lbs match will feature a pair of wrestlers who will be competing in their third consecutive All-Star Classic as Josh Asper of Maryland meets Jordan Blanton of Illinois. Asper and Blanton are both two-time All-Americans with Asper earning both of his All-American honors at 165lbs.

Nico Megaludis at 125lbs and Robert Hamlin at 184lbs have both finished 2nd in the NCAA Championships. Megaludis will meet Big Ten rival and All-American Jesse Delgado of Illinois at 125lbs. Megaludis and Delgado were two of the top freshman in the country a year ago. Hamlin, a tw0-time All-American will match-up against All-American Kevin Steinhaus of Minnesota at 184lbs.

The 285lbs main event match will be one of the most anticipated as 2011 All-American and former Junior World Champion Dom Bradley will meet freshman All-American Mike McMullan of Northwestern.

The local feature matches will include a pair of NCAA Champions from Division II and III. Two-time NCAA Division II Champion, Matt Meuleners of Northern State will meet Jake Kettler of George Mason while Division III NCAA Champion Kodi Silvestri of Wartburg College will meet Kevin Tao of American at 149lbs. Silvestri was the 2012 outstanding wrestler of the Division III tournament.

The complete lineup and weight class sponsors are the following:

125 – Nico Megaludis (Penn State) vs. Jesse Delgado (Illinois) - Sponsor: Wrestlers in Business

133 – Chris Dardanes (Minnesota) vs. Aaron (A.J.) Schopp (Edinboro) - Sponsor: Brute

141 – Kendric Maple (Oklahoma) vs. B.J. Futrell (Illinois) - Sponsor: Balance Bar

149 – Jason Chamberlain (Boise State) vs. Nick Lester (Oklahoma) - Sponsor: First Home Mortgage

157 – Jason Welch (Northwestern) vs. Dylan Alton (Penn State) - Sponsor: Knightpoint Systems

165 – Kyle Dake (Cornell) vs. David Taylor (Penn State) - Sponsor: The Meltzer Group

174 – Jordan Blanton (Illinois) vs. Josh Asper (Maryland) - Sponsor: Mercedes Benz of Silver Springs

184 – Kevin Steinhaus (Minnesota) vs. Robert Hamlin (Lehigh) - Sponsor: John C. Flood Inc.

197 – Quentin Wright (Penn State) vs. Matt Wilps (Pittsburgh) - Sponsor: BAE Systems

285 – Dom Bradley (Missouri) vs. Mike McMullan (Northwestern) - Sponsor: Archura LLC

Feature Match-Ups

Youth – Sam Kalishman (Pointers Run Elementary) vs. Gene Quodala (Frederick Douglass Elementary) – Sponsor: Pennisula Wrestling Association

133 – Travis Barroquillo (Indiana Institute of Technology) vs. Sam Shames (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) – Sponsor: National Collegiate Wrestling Association (NCWA)

149 – Kevin Tao (American) vs. Kodie Silvestri (Wartburg) – Sponsor: Connection Academy

285 – Jake Kettler (George Mason) vs. Matt Meuleners (Northern State) – Sponsor: Integrated Logistics

The weight class sponsors were critical in ensuring that this year’s All-Star Classic was a first class event. Each of these sponsor’s support helped to provide travel accommodations for the athletes and a gift acknowledging their participation in this historic All-Star Classic.

The NWCA All-Star Classic presented by the United States Marine Corps will occur on November 3, 2012 at 7:30 p.m. in Bender Arena on the campus of American University in Washington D.C. The NWCA All-Star classic is hosted by the DC Athletic Club and Greater Washington Business Network and is also sponsored by Balance Bar.

For more information on the event, visit the NWCA website and follow the NWCA Facebook and Twitter pages.

The NWCA Classic serves as a premier event to help grow the sport of wrestling. Proceeds from the event will go towards supporting the sport in the Washington DC area.

About the National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA)
The National Wrestling Coaches Association, established in 1928, is a non-profit organization for the advancement of all levels of the sport of wrestling with primary emphasis on developing coaches who work in academic environments. The membership embraces all people interested in amateur wrestling. The three core competencies of the NWCA are: coaching development, student-athlete welfare, and promotion of wrestling.

Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.