Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

LeValley named Outstanding Wrestler in freestyle at Minnesota Storm Holiday Cup

ROCHESTER, Minn. – Kevin LeValley (Minneapolis, Minn./Minnesota Storm) captured the 66 kg/145.5 lbs. division and was named Outstanding Wrestler in freestyle at the inaugural Minnesota Storm Holiday Cup on Friday.

LeValley, a former star for Bucknell who trains in Minnesota, defeated former Wisconsin star Kyle Ruschell (Madison, Wis./New York Athletic Club), 1-0, 3-3, 2-2 in the finals bout. He won three matches on the way to the title, in a very competitive bracket.

One of his club teammates, Zach Sanders (Minneapolis, Minn./Minnesota Storm) also claimed a title at 55 kg/121 lbs. Sanders, who was a 2012 University World silver medalist, scored victories over Steve Mytych (Coplay, Pa./Lehigh Valley AC and Cruse Aarhus (Cedar Falls, Iowa/Panther WC).

2011 NCAA champion Zachary Rey (Bethlehem, Pa./Lehigh Valley AC) won the title at 120 kg/264.5 lbs., winning a best-of three series over Nicholas Severson (Pine Island, Minn./unattached) in two straight bouts.

Former Wisconsin star Trevor Brandvold (Madison, Wis./New York AC) won a competitive four-athlete roundrobin for the title at 96 kg/211.5 lbs. with a 3-0 record. Among those he defeated are respected Jack Jensen (Colorado Springs, Colo./Army WCAP) and Cayle Byers (Stillwater, Okla./Titan Mercury WC).

Former Iowa star Phillip Keddy (Iowa City, Iowa/Hawkeye WC) claimed the 84 kg/185 lbs. title with a 2-0 record in a three-athlete roundrobin. He defeated eventual silver medalist Dwight Howes (Colorado Springs, Colo./USOTC/NYAC), by fall 6-0, 1:54.

Other individual champions were Bebeto Yewah (La Crosse, Wis./LaCrosse WC) at 60 kg /132.25 lbs. and Jose Quintana (Burnsville, Minn./World Class Wrestling) at 74 kg/163 lbs

Yewah, a two-time Div. III national champion for UW-LaCrosse, needed three matches to defeat veteran Brandon Precin (Evanston, Ill./New York AC) in their best-of-three series. Precin won the first bout by pin, but Yewah came back with a 3-3, 2-0 victory and a 1-0, 4-1 win to claim the title.

Quintana won his weight uncontested.

The tournament continues on Saturday with the Greco-Roman and women’s freestyle division. It is being held alongside the Minnesota Christmas Tournament, a nationally-respected high school wrestling event.

The Minnesota Storm Holiday Cup and the Minnesota Christmas Tournament are being webcast via and its video portal,

At Rochester, Minn., Dec. 14, 2012

Men’s freestyle results

55 kg/121.25 lbs.
1st - Zach Sanders of Minnesota Storm
2nd - Steve Mytych of Lehigh Valley Athletic Club
3rd - Cruse Aarhus of Panther Wrestling Club
Round robin
Zach Sanders (Minnesota Storm) dec. Cruse Aarhus (Panther Wrestling Club), 1-0, 2-0
Zach Sanders (Minnesota Storm) dec. Steve Mytych (Lehigh Valley Athletic Club), 1-4, 3-1, 1-0
Steve Mytych (Lehigh Valley Athletic Club) pin Cruse Aarhus (Panther Wrestling Club), 1-0, 1:32

60 kg /132.25 lbs.
1st - Bebeto Yewah of La Crosse
2nd - Brandon Precin of NYAC
Brandon Precin (NYAC) pin Bebeto Yewah (La Crosse), 1:18
Bebeto Yewah (La Crosse) dec. Brandon Precin (NYAC), 3-3, 2-0
Bebeto Yewah (La Crosse) dec. Brandon Precin (NYAC), 1-0, 4-1

66 kg/145.5 lbs.
1st - Kevin LeValley (Minnesota Storm) dec. Kyle Ruschell (New York Athletic Club), 1-0, 3-3, 2-2
3rd - Drew Headlee (Lehigh Valley Athletic Club) pin Brett Robbins (Panther Wrestling Club), 1-6, 2-1, 0:30

74 kg/163 lbs.
1st - Jose Quintana of World Class Wrestling

84 kg/185 lbs.
1st - Phillip Keddy of Hawkeye Wrestling Club
2nd - Dwight Howes of USOEC/NYAC
3rd - Derek Jones of Unattached
Dwight Howes (USOEC/NYAC) dec. Derek Jones (Unattached), 0-1, 6-0, 4-2
Phillip Keddy (Hawkeye Wrestling Club) tech fall Derek Jones (Unattached), 6-0, 7-0
Phillip Keddy (Hawkeye Wrestling Club) pin Dwight Howes (USOEC/NYAC), 6-0,1:54

96 kg /211.5 lbs.
1st Place - Trevor Brandvold of New York Athletic Club
2nd Place - Jack Jensen of Army WCAP
3rd Place - Cayle Byers of Titan Mercury WC
4th Place - Travis Wieland of Southern Minnesota Wrestling
Trevor Brandvold (New York Athletic Club) dec. Cayle Byers (Titan Mercury WC), 3-1, 1-0
Jack Jensen (Army WCAP) tech. fall Travis Wieland (Southern Minnesota Wrestling), 6-0, 6-0
Trevor Brandvold (New York Athletic Club) pin Travis Wieland (Southern Minnesota Wrestling), 0:31
Jack Jensen (Army WCAP) dec. Cayle Byers (Titan Mercury WC), 4-1,7-0
Trevor Brandvold (New York Athletic Club) dec. Jack Jensen (Army WCAP), 1-0, 1-0
Cayle Byers (Titan Mercury WC) tech. fall Travis Wieland (Southern Minnesota Wrestling), 8-1, 6-0

120 kg/264.5 lbs.
1st Place - Zachery Rey of Lehigh Valley Athletic Club
2nd Place - Nicholas Severson of Minnesota Storm
Best of three series
Zachery Rey (Lehigh Valley Athletic Club) dec. Nicholas Severson (Minnesota Storm), 1-1, 1-0, 1-0
Zachery Rey (Lehigh Valley Athletic Club) pin Nicholas Severson (Minnesota Storm), 1-0, 1:00
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.