Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Oregon State wins Reno Tournament of Champions, led by champion RJ Pena

Eight OSU wrestlers finish in the top five as Beavers claim second straight top five tournament finish

RENO, Nev. – The No. 11 ranked Oregon State wrestling team took the Reno Tournament of Champions name to heart as it became tournament champions for 2012 with 145 total points, Sunday in Nevada. The Beavers finished first out of 27 schools competing in the event and saw 157 pounder RJ Pena claim an individual title of his own, going 5-0 on the day. As a unit, OSU boasted eight wrestlers who finished in the top five out of their weight class and finished 26 points ahead of second place finisher and Pac-12 foe Boise State.

Pena is the Orange and Black’s hottest wrestler, as he has now won two-straight 157 lb. championships dating back to the Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invite (Nov. 30 –Dec. 1). The junior captain has also won 12 straight decisions since his streak started in Vegas last month.

For Oregon State, this is its second top five finish at a tournament this year as OSU placed fourth with 98.5 points during the Las Vegas Invite.

Also earning top five finishes within their individual weight class included Mike Mangrum (141 lbs.), Ty Vinson (184 lbs.) and Taylor Meeks (197 lbs.) who finished second, as well as Austin Morehead (174 lbs.) and Seth Thomas (165 lbs.) in third. Those wrestlers were followed by Alex Elder (165 lbs.) and Chad Hanke (HWT) who each placed fifth.

A total of three OSU wrestlers had to bow out of the tournament due to medical forfeits, including Drew Van Anrooy (133 lbs.), Scott Sakaguchi (149 lbs.) and Hanke. Despite his early exit from the event, Hanke was still able to secure a top five finish in his weight class.

The first place finish for Head Coach Jim Zalesky is his school’s highest in the Reno TOC since it switched to individual competition instead of a dual format in 2003.

Oregon State now rests for two weeks before traveling to the Windy City for the Midlands Championships, which will be hosted by Northwestern University, Dec. 29-30.

at Reno, Nev., Dec. 16

Gold Medal Finals

125 - Tyler Cox (Wyoming) dec. Tyler Iwamura (Cal-Bakersfield), 6-5
133 - Ryan Mango (Stanford) dec. Brian Owen (Boise State), 10-6
141 - Ugi Khishgnyam (Citadel) dec. Michael Mangrum (Oregon State), 4-3
149 - Jason Chamberlain (Boise State) dec. Dan Osterman (Michigan State), 4-1
157 - R.J. Pena (Oregon State) dec. Andy McCulley (Wyoming), 11-6
165 - Nijel Jones (NC State) maj. dec. Nick Proctor (Michigan State), 13-4
174 - Cody Walters (Ohio) dec. Brock Gutches (Southern Oregon), dq
184 - Jake Swartz (Boise State) dec. Ty Vinson (Oregon State), 4-0
197 - Alfonso Hernandez (Wyoming) dec. Taylor Meeks (Oregon State), 9-6
285 - Mike McClure (Michigan State) pin Odie Delaney (Citadel), 3:40

Team Standings
1 145.0 Oregon State
2 119.0 Boise State
3 107.5 Michigan State
4 94.5 Wyoming
5 87.0 Southern Oregon
6 84.0 Cal State Bakersfield
7 61.0 Ohio
8 55.5 NC State
9 54.5 The Citadel
10 53.0 West Virginia
11 39.0 Stanford
12 36.5 Adams State
13 35.0 Grand Canyon
14 31.0 MSU-Northern
15 30.5 Appalachian State
16 28.5 Utah Valley
17 25.5 Missouri Valley
18 25.0 Campbell
19 23.0 Minn. State
20 21.5 Cal Poly
21 16.5 Oregon State-B
22 15.5 Northern Colorado
23 11.0 Clackamas
24 9.5 Stanford-B
25 7.0 Simpson
26 1.5 Southern Oregon-B
27 0.0 Sacramento State
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.