Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Dave Schultz Memorial International set for Jan. 31-Feb. 2 in Colorado Springs, Colo.

The 15th annual Dave Schultz Memorial International Wrestling Championships will be held at the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, Colo. on Jan. 31-Feb. 2, 2013, featuring teams from around the world for all three senior wrestling styles: men’s freestyle, Greco-Roman and women’s freestyle.

Day one of the championship, Thursday, Jan. 31, is reserved for Greco-Roman matches; men’s freestyle wrestlers will compete on Friday, Feb. 1 and Saturday, Feb. 2 will feature women’s freestyle.

The international teams slated to compete are Benin, Canada, China, France, Honduras, India, Iran, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Lithuania, Moldova, Mongolia, Romania, Russia, Sweden, Togo and Venezuela.

Year after year, the Dave Schultz Memorial hosts outstanding athletes from around the world.

For the USA, last year’s Dave Schultz included Olympic and World Team members and medalists, such as Greco-Roman athletes Dremiel Byers (Colorado Springs, Colo./U.S Army) at 120 kg/264.5 and Spenser Mango (Colorado Springs, Colo./U.S. Army) at 55 kg/121 lbs., both of whom competed in the last two Olympic Games (2008, 2012).

Competing in men’s freestyle, notable champions from the 2012 tournament were Coleman Scott (Stillwater, Okla./Gator WC) at 60 kg/132 lbs. and Jordan Burroughs (Lincoln, Neb./Sunkist Kids) at 74 kg/163 lbs. Burroughs is a 2012 Olympic gold medalist and a 2011 World gold medalist and Scott was a 2012 Olympic bronze medalist. From India, three-time Olympian (two-time medalist) and 2010 World Champion Sushil Kumar at 66 kg/145.5 lbs. was among the 2012 Schultz freestyle champions.

Women’s freestyle winners from last year included 2012 Olympian and 2012 World champion Elena Pirozhkova (Colorado Springs, Colo./Titan Mercury WC) and 2012 World bronze medalist Alyssa Lampe (Colorado Springs, Colo./Sunkist Kids) at 48 kg/105.5 lbs. Three-time Olympic medalist Tonya Verbeek of Canada was also a champion last year at 55 kg/121 lbs.

Last year’s Outstanding Wrestlers were named, one in each category, and all were from the U.S. The 2012 Outstanding wrestlers were Kendrick Sanders (Homestead, Fla./New York AC/USOEC) at 66 kg/145.5 lbs in Greco-Roman, Coleman Scott (Stillwater, Okla./Gator WC) at 60 kg/132 lbs. in men’s freestyle and Alyssa Lampe (Colorado Springs, Colo./Sunkist Kids) at 48 kg/105.5 lbs. in women’s freestyle.

This year’s field is expected to be outstanding, with numerous World and Olympic Team members from a variety of nations scheduled to compete. Details on the participating athletes will be released next week.

To participate in this event, a FILA license is required per new regulations. Information on registration can be found at the Dave Schultz Memorial International event website.

Online registration for the event is available at TrackWrestling and costs $46 per athlete. The deadline to register online is Tuesday, Jan. 29 at 5:00 p.m. MST. Athletes wishing to register on-site must pay $60. No refunds are given to athletes who fail to compete in the tournament.

Tickets are available at the gate. Prices include $20 Adult All-Session Pass; $15 per day for Adults; $10 per session for Adults; $5 per day for High School students and Military (with ID); $5 per day for Seniors (62+); $4 per day for youth 5-14 years old. Coaches are free with five paid wrestlers.

At Colorado Springs, Colo., Jan. 31 – Feb. 2

Event Schedule

Thursday, January 31
Greco-Roman: 55 kg, 60 kg, 66 kg, 74 kg, 84 kg, 96 kg, 120 kg
Session I: 9:00 a.m. – 1:30 p.m.
Session II: 4:00 p.m. – Conclusion

Friday, February 1
Men’s Freestyle: 55 kg, 60 kg, 66 kg, 74 kg, 84 kg, 96 kg, 120 kg
Session I: 9:00 a.m. – 2:15 p.m.
Session II: 4:00 p.m. – Conclusion

Saturday, February 2
Women’s Freestyle: 48 kg, 51 kg, 55 kg, 59 kg, 63 kg, 67 kg, 72 kg
Session I: 9:00 a.m. – 1:30 p.m.
Session II: 4:00 p.m. – Conclusion

2012 Dave Schultz Memorial International Champions

55 kg/121 lbs. – Spenser Mango, Colorado Springs, Colo. (U.S Army)
60 kg/132 lbs. – Anil Kumar (India)
66 kg/145.5 lbs. – Kendrick Sanders, Homestead, Fla. (New York AC/USOEC)
74 kg/163 lbs. – Andrew Bisek, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Minnesota Storm)
84 kg/185 lbs. – Chas Betts, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Minnesota Storm)
96 kg/211.5 lbs. – Mohammed Abdel Fattah (Egypt)
120 kg/264.5 lbs. – Dremiel Byers, Colorado Springs, Colo. (U.S Army)
Outstanding Wrestler – Kendrick Sanders, Homestead, Fla. (New York AC), 66 kg/145.5 lbs.
Team Award – U.S. Army

Men’s Freestyle
55 kg/121 lbs. – Amit Kumar (India)
60 kg/132 lbs. – Coleman Scott, Stillwater, Okla. (Gator WC)
66 kg/145.5 lbs. – Sushil Kumar (India)
74 kg/163 lbs. – Jordan Burroughs, Lincoln, Neb. (Sunkist Kids)
84 kg/185 lbs. – Raymond Jordan, Lincoln, Neb. (Sunkist Kids)
96 kg/211.5 lbs. – Shamil Akhmedov (Russia)
120 kg/264.5 lbs. – Dom Bradley, Blue Springs, Mo. (Sunkist Kids)
Outstanding Wrestler – Coleman Scott, Stillwater, Okla. (Gator WC), 60 kg/132 lbs.
Team award – Sunkist Kids

Women’s Freestyle
48 kg/105.5 lbs. – Alyssa Lampe, Colo. Springs, Colo. (Sunkist Kids)
51 kg/112.25 lbs. – Gen Haley (Canada)
55 kg/121 lbs. – Tonya Verbeek (Canada)
59 kg/130 lbs. – Jazzie Barker, (Canada)
63 kg/138.75 lbs. – Elena Pirozhkova, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Gator WC)
67 kg/147.5 lbs. – Stacie Anaka (Canada)
72 kg/158.5 lbs. – Stephany Lee, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Sunkist Kids)
Outstanding Wrestler – Alyssa Lampe (Sunkist Kids), 48 kg/105.5 lbs.
Team Awards – Canada
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.