Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Wartburg puts finishing touches on record 10th NCAA Div. III title under Jim Miller

Wartburg coach Jim Miller celebrates his 10th NCAA Division III title on Saturday night. Wartburg College photo.

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa – Retiring Coach Jim Miller’s record-tying 10th and final NCAA Division III wrestling championship was a total team effort.

A balanced effort by Miller’s top-ranked Wartburg College Knights led to 103 points and another gold trophy before 2,398 fans on Saturday night at the Cedar Rapids Ice Arena.

Miller's 10 titles ties Augsburg's Jeff Swenson for the most national crowns won by a coach in Division III

Wartburg has now won five of the six last titles in DIII under the 59-year-old Miller and achieved its first three-peat at the NCAA tournament.

“I'm elated for our fans, our college and our program as a whole," said Miller, in his 22nd season at Wartburg. "We have a great group of young men. I'm just really proud to be associated with them."

Wartburg junior Kenny Anderson captured his second straight national title. Anderson downed Grant Sutter of Wisconsin-Whitewater 9-1 in the 133-pound finals to cap an unbeaten season.

Anderson scored takedowns on leg attacks early in all three periods en route to his victory. He piled up over four minutes of riding time in prevailing by major decision. Anderson bumped up a weight class this year after winning the 2012 title at 125.

The Knights finished with seven All-Americans. Wartburg had a champion, a runner-up, two third-place finishers, a fourth, a fifth and a seventh in the tournament.

Concordia’s Greg Sanders scored a reversal with 12 seconds left to earn a 6-5 win over returning champion Kodie Silvestri of Wartburg at 149. Sanders was named Outstanding Wrestler.

Elmhurst finished second with 82 points and Wisconsin-Whitewater third with 78 points.

Nazar Kulchytskyy of Wisconsin-Oshkosh (165), Kyle Kwiat of Ohio Northern (174) and Chad Johnson of Augsburg (285) each repeated as champions.

Kulchytskyy topped John Darling of the College of New Jersey 5-3 in the finals.

Kwiat defeated Jules Doliscar of Ithaca 8-0 in the finals.

Johnson, a junior, downed Centenary’s Joseph Zitone 5-1 in the final bout of the night.

Top-seeded Ricardo Gomez of Ithaca powered in on an early leg attack for a takedown en route to defeating unseeded Jimmy Gotto of Coe 4-2 in the 125 finals.

Adam Sheley of Wisconsin-La Crosse used a riding-time point to edge Paul Marcello of Johns Hopkins, 2-1 in the 141 finals.

Unseeded Devin Biscaha of Springfield used a second-period reversal to down Kristopher Krawchuk of Wilkes 2-0 in the 157 finals. Biscaha became his school’s first Division III national champion.

Elmhurst’s Josef Rau earned a 6-3 win over Brian Broderick of the College of New Jersey in the 184 finals. Teammate Mike Benefiel, a past NCAA Division I qualifier for Oklahoma State, followed by defeating Cornell’s Alex Coolidge 7-2 in the 197 finals.

Elmhurst’s Steve Marianetti was named Coach of the Year.

Wartburg 103, Elmhurst 82, Wisconsin-Whitewater 78, Wisconsin-La Crosse 58, Ithaca 47, Centenary 45, College of New Jersey 42.5, Springfield 42, SUNY-Cortland 40, Augsburg 37


125 Pounds
1st – Ricardo Gomez (Ithaca) dec. Jimmy Gotto (Coe), 4-2
3rd – Gilberto Camacho (Wartburg) dec. Isaac Balsiger (Wisconsin-La Crosse), 3-2
5th – Miguel Venecia (Elmhurst) dec. Christopher Donaldson (Ursinus), 6-4
7th – Mike Fuenffinger (Augsburg) won by tech. fall over Matthias Ellis II (Brockport State), 22-5

133 Pounds
1st – Kenny Anderson (Wartburg) dec. Grant Sutter (Wisconsin-Whitewater), 9-1
3rd – Nathan Fitzenreider (North Central) dec. Derek Adams (Springfield), 8-2
5th – Brandon Jones (New York University) dec. Alex Gomez (Ithaca), 5-3
7th – Dalton Bullard (Elmhurst) pinned Evan Obert (Luther), 1:12

141 Pounds
1st – Adam Sheley (Wisconsin-La Crosse) dec. Paul Marcello (Johns Hopkins), 2-1
3rd – Tommy Mirocha (Wartburg) dec. Ryan Earley (Elmhurst), 6-2
5th – Joseph Grippi (Springfield) dec. Nathaniel Behnke (Wisconsin-Eau Claire), 12-2
7th – Kyle Windquist (Luther) dec. Ces Antista (Williams College), 9-5

149 Pounds
1st – Greg Sanders (Concordia) dec. Kodie Silvestri (Wartburg), 6-5
3rd – Robert Dierna (SUNY-Cortland) dec. Vincent Pisani (York), 9-3
5th – Jacob Long (Concordia-Moorhead) dec. Jorge Lopez (Williams College), 6-2
7th – Luke Lohr (Waynesburg) dec. Emanual Ajagbe (Delaware Valley), 7-5

157 Pounds
1st – Devin Biscaha (Springfield) dec. Kristopher Krawchuk (Wilkes), 2-0
3rd – Chris Burdge (Centenary) dec. Cade Sarbacker (Wisconsin-Whitewater), 12-5
5th – Cole Welter (Wartburg) dec. Josh Etzel (Washington And Jefferson), 5-3 TB2.
7th – Reece Lefever (Wabash) won by medical forfeit Elias Larson (Trine University)

165 Pounds
1st – Nazar Kulchytskyy (Wisconsin-Oshkosh) dec. John Darling (College of New Jersey), 5-3
3rd – Cedric Gibson (Wisconsin-Whitewater) dec. Landon Williams (Wartburg), 8-3
5th – Joey Favia (Stevens Institute of Technology) pinned Owen Vernon (Centenary), 2:53
7th – Jordan Powell (Thiel) dec. Jordan Schulte (Wisconsin-Stevens Point), 4-3

174 Pounds
1st – Kyle Kwiat (Ohio Northern) dec. Jules Doliscar (Ithaca), 8-0
3rd – Zach Thomson (Gettysburg) dec. Zach Zotollo (College of New Jersey), 10-3
5th – Kevin O’Brien (Wisconsin-La Crosse) dec. Lou Puca (SUNY-Cortland), 6-3
7th – Matt Burns (Augustana) dec. Ben Kramer of Messiah, 4-2

184 Pounds
1st – Josef Rau (Elmhurst) dec. Brian Broderick (College of New Jersey), 6-3
3rd – Josh Thomson (Messiah) won by medical forfeit over Julian Meaney (Elizabethtown)
5th – Mitchell Hagen (St. Johns) pinned Colin Lenhardt (Johnson & Wales), 0:34
7th – Daniel Olsen (Wheaton) won by medical forfeit over Roland Dunlap (Wisconsin-Whitewater)

197 Pounds
1st – Mike Benefiel (Elmhurst) dec. Alex Coolidge (Cornell), 7-2
3rd – Jared Myhrberg (SUNY-Cortland) dec. Shane Siefert (Wisconsin-Whitewater), 9-5
5th – Andrew Lovins (Heidelberg) dec. Aaron Karns (Delaware Valley), 5-3 SV1
7th – Matthew Hechsel (Augsburg) dec. Trent Flegel (Luther), 7-5

285 Pounds
1st – Chad Johnson (Augsburg) dec. Joseph Zitone (Centenary), 5-1
3rd – William Mayer (Wisconsin-La Crosse) dec. James Buss (Loras), 5-2
5th – Anthony Edgren (Wisconsin-Whitewater) dec. Tom Bouressa (Concordia-Moorhead), 6-4
7th – Ryan Fank (Wartburg) dec. Jeremy Rieth (Elizabethtown), 1-0
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.