Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Burroughs, Scott, Nye, Maroulis among finalists on final day of U.S. Open

Jordan Burroughs rolled into the U.S. Open freestyle finals on Saturday. Tony Rotundo photo.

LAS VEGAS – Olympic medalists Jordan Burroughs and Coleman Scott earned berths in the U.S. Open freestyle finals on Saturday at the Las Vegas Convention Center.

Burroughs, a 2011 World champion and 2012 Olympic gold medalist, will face 2012 Hodge Trophy winner David Taylor in the finals at 74 kg/163 lbs.

Burroughs rolled to three straight wins in Saturday’s first session and is now 51-0 on the Senior level over the past three seasons. Burroughs is seeking his second U.S. Open title.

Scott, a 2012 Olympic bronze medalist, will battle 2011 World Team member Reece Humphrey in the finals at 60 kg/132 lbs. Humphrey won this event in 2011.

Humphrey pulled out a three-period win over two-time NCAA champion Logan Stieber in the semifinals, finishing in the leg clinch in the third period to prevail.

Erik Nye scored the biggest upset of the first session, knocking off 10-time U.S. Open champion and past World champion Dremiel Byers in the Greco-Roman semifinals at 120 kg/264.5 lbs. Nye scored a turn with a front headlock in the closing seconds of the third period to earn the win.

The finals are set for 7 p.m. in Las Vegas.

The top seven finishers in each weight class qualify for June’s U.S. World Team Trials in Stillwater, Okla.

Past World Team member Obe Blanc will face Frank Perrelli in the freestyle finals at 55 kg/121 lbs. Blanc won this event in 2010.

Past World Team member J.D. Bergman will battle past National Team member Chris Pendleton for the freestyle crown at 96 kg/211.5 lbs. Bergman won this event in 2011.

World silver medalist Helen Maroulis advanced to the women’s freestyle finals at 55 kg/121 lbs. She will face Katherine Fulp-Allen in the finals. Maroulis is seeking her fourth title in this event.

Jackie Cataline and Brittany Roberts will meet in the women’s freestyle finals at 72 kg/158.5 lbs.

Past World Team member Joe Betterman advanced to the Greco-Roman finals where he will meet Marco Lara at 60 kg/132 lbs. Betterman is seeking his fourth U.S. Open crown.

2012 Olympian Ellis Coleman looked good in moving back up to 66 kg/145.5 lbs. in Greco-Roman. Coleman will wrestle Kendrick Sanders in the finals.



55 kg/121 lbs.
Obe Blanc (Titan Mercury WC) vs. Frank Perrelli (New York AC)

60 kg/132 lbs.
Reece Humphrey (New York AC) vs. Coleman Scott (Titan Mercury WC)

74 kg/163 lbs.
Jordan Burroughs (Sunkist Kids) vs. David Taylor (Nittany Lion WC)

96 kg/211.5 lbs.
Chris Pendleton (Titan Mercury WC) vs. J.D. Bergman (New York AC)

Women’s freestyle

55 kg/121 lbs.
Helen Maroulis (Sunkist Kids) vs. Katherine Fulp-Allen (New York AC)

72 kg/158.5 lbs.
Jackie Cataline (Sunnyvale Scorpion WC) vs. Brittany Roberts (OKCU Gator Women`s RTC)


60 kg/132 lbs.
Joe Betterman (U.S. Army) vs. Marco Lara (U.S. Army)

66 kg/145 lbs.
Ellis Coleman (New York AC) vs. Kendrick Sanders (New York AC)

120 kg/264.5 lbs.
David Arendt (U.S. Marines) vs. Erik Nye (U.S. Army)
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.