Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Champions earn World Team Trials berths with wins at Northern Plains Senior Regionals in Iowa

WATERLOO, Iowa – Champions in the Senior division earned spots at the U.S. World Team Trials with victories in the three Olympic styles at the Northern Plains Regionals this weekend. Competition was held in men’s freestyle, Greco-Roman and women’s freestyle.

In men’s freestyle, a pair of stars from the University of Minnesota competing for the Minnesota Storm earned World Team Trials berths: Logan Storley at 84 kg and Scott Schiller at 96 kg/211.5 lbs.

Storely beat Zeb Wahle of MWC in the finals, 4-0, 4-0, while Schiller stopped Spencer Johnson of Nebraska Wrestling Training Center for the gold, 5-0, 4-0.

Winning a strong weight class was Kyle Ruschell of Badger at 66 kg/145.5 lbs., who beat Gopher wrestler Nick Dardanes of the Minnesota Storm in the finals, 4-3, 3-0. Taking third at this division was former Boise State star Jason Chamberlain of the Titan Mercury WC.

Taking the heavyweight title was former Central Michigan star Jarod Trice of the NYAC who beat Angel Gomez of Waldorf in the finals, 3-0, 5-0.

Other individual men’s freestyle champions were Kyle Hutter of HRWA/VBRTC at 55 kg/121 lbs., Zach Synon of Missouri WC at 60 kg/132 lbs. and Vladyslav Dombouskyy of Rocklin at 74 kg/163 lbs.

In Greco-Roman, at heavyweight, Parker Betts of the Minnesota Storm/USOEC edged Pete Gounaridis of the US Army, 1-0,1-0 in the finals.

Taking the title at 60 kg/132 lbs. was Joe DeNova of the NYAC/USOEC, who stopped William Simpson of the US Army, 2-0,1-0.

Winning the 66 kg/145.5 lbs. gold was veteran Chad Vandiver of the Rino WC, winner over Alex Holloway of the Marines, 2-0,1-0.

Other Greco-Roman champions were Arthur Carmona of the USOEC at 55 kg/121 lbs, Bo Beckman of the NYAC at 74 kg/163 lbs., Courtney Myers of the Marines at 84 kg/185 lbs. and Tyler Lehmann (Minnesota Storm at 96 kg/211.5 lbs.

Winning women’s freestyle titles uncontested were Sharice Schnell at 59 kg/130 lbs., Michele Muscato at 67 kg/147.5 lbs. and Christen Dierken of Williamsburg at 72 kg/158.5 lbs.

At Waterloo, Iowa

Men’s freestyle

55 kg/121 lbs.
1st - Kyle Hutter (HRWA/VBRTC) won by tech fall over Bo Bettinson (Waldorf) (TF 6-0,6-0)
3rd - Izzy Balsiger (Lacrosse) won by decision over Timmy Peskar (Midland Mug Dog) (Dec 2-2,2-1,5-4)

60 kg/132 lbs.
1st - Zach Synon (Missouri WC) won by decision over Brandon Wright (Viking Wrestling Club) (Dec 0-7,2-2,6-0)
3rd - Bebeto Yewah (LVAC) won by decision over William Simpson (US ARMY) (Dec 4-3,8-0)

66 kg/145.5 lbs.
1st - Kyle Ruschell (Badger) won by decision over Nick Dardanes (Minnesota Storm) (Dec 4-3,3-0)
3rd - Jason Chamberlain (Titan Mercury Wrestling Club) won by decision over Matt Collum (Timberwolf Extremes) (Dec 6-0,3-0)

74 kg/163 lbs.
1st - Vladyslav Dombrouskyy (Rocklin) won by decision over Ethan Ball (Coe) (Dec 5-0,5-0)
3rd - Derek St. John (Hawkeye Wrestling Club) won by decision over Dylan Reel (Minnesota Storm) (Dec 2-0,7-3)

84 kg/185 lbs.
1st - Logan Storley (Minnesota Storm) won by decision over Zeb Wahle (MWC) (Dec 4-0,4-0)
3rd - Dusty Jentz (Luther College) won by tech fall over Richard Carlson (Lacrosse) (TF 6-0,1-6,8-2)

96 kg/211.5 lbs.
1st - Scott Schiller (Minnesota Storm) won by decision over Spencer Johnson (Nebraska Wrestling Training Ce) (Dec 5-0,4-0)
3rd - Justin Heberlie (Unattached) won by decision over Jack Jensen (US ARMY) (Dec 5-2,1-0)

120 kg/264.5 lbs.
1st - Jarod Trice (NYAC) won by decision over Angel Gomez (Waldorf) (Dec 3-0,5-0)
3rd - Jon Schmidt (Ringers) won by decision over Jahsua Marsh (Midland Mug Dog) (Dec 0-1,3-1,7-1)


55 kg/121 lbs.
1st - Arthur Carmona (USOEC)

60 kg/132 lbs.
1st - Joe DeNova (NYAC/USOEC) won by decision over William Simpson (US Army) (Dec 2-0,1-0)
3rd - Julian Gunnels (Minnesota Storm) won by decision over Jared Parvinmehr (IZZY) (Dec 6-0,3-0)

66 kg/145.5 lbs.
1st - Chad Vandiver (Rino WC) won by decision over Alex Holloway (Marines) (Dec 2-0,1-0)
3rd - Devin Scott (Minnesota Storm) won by injury default over Alejandro Sancho (usoec) (Inj. 3-0,1-1,0:00)

74 kg/163 lbs.
1st - Bo Beckman (NYAC) won by decision over Anton Gottfredson (unattached) (Dec 2-0,1-0)
3rd - John Stefanowicz (Marines) won by decision over Caleb Smith (unattached) (Dec 0-1,2-0,1-0)

84 kg/185 lbs.
1st - Courtney Myers (Marines) won by decision over Zeb Wahle (MWC) (Dec 4-0,3-0)
3rd - Adam Carey (TWC/Arizona Wrestling Club) won by decision over Aaron Holland (USOEC) (Dec 6-1,7-1)

96 kg/211.5 lbs.
1st - Tyler Lehmann (Minnesota Storm) won by forfeit over Patrick Carey (Minnesota Storm) (FF)
3rd - Charles Fish (Marines) won by decision over Donnie Horner (MO West Championship Wrestling) (Dec 2-0,4-0)

120 kg/264.5 lbs.
1st - Parker Betts (MN Storm/USOEC) won by decision over Pete Gounaridis (US Army) (Dec 1-0,1-0)
3rd - Orry Elor (usoec) won by decision over Anthony Edgren (UWW Warhawk Wrestling Club) (Dec 0-1,2-0,3-1)

Women’s freestyle

59 kg/130 lbs.
1st Place - Sharice Schnell (unattached)

67 kg/147.5 lbs.
1st Place - Michele Muscato (unattached)

72 kg/158.5 lbs.
1st Place - Christen Dierken (Williamsburg)
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.