Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Iowa Holds Annial Wrestleoffs

IOWA CITY, IA The defending national champion University of Iowa wrestling team hosted its annual wrestle-offs earlier today in Carver-Hawkeye Arena. The matches were highlighted by two first-period pins by senior all-American Doug Schwab and sophomore 184-pounder Jessman Smith. Schwab pinned sophomore Justin Stanley in 1:08 in the 141-pound match, while Smith pinned sophomore Scott Kauffman in 1:50. Redshirt freshman Tyler Nixt defeated senior Gabe McMahan, 11-8, at 174 pounds Twin brothers and redshirt freshmen Ryan and Randy Fulsaas won their matches, with Ryan beating senior David Spangler, 10-3, at 197 pounds, and Randy defeating sophomore Josh Liddle, 7-5, at heavyweight. Head Coach Jim Zalesky and the Hawkeyes open the season Friday, November 24 against Luther and Loras Colleges in Maquoketa, IA. Iowa will host the 2001 NCAA Wrestling Championships, March 15-17 in Carver-Hawkeye Arena. Thursday's Results 165 Ben Shirk pinned Jeff Stewart 184 Ryan McGivern pinned John Gillespie Friday's Results 125 Luke Eustice dec. Tim Ironside, 12-6 157 Corey Stanley dec. Jason Howell, 7-5 165 Ben Shirk dec. Mitch Peyton, 7-1 184 Scott Kauffman pinned Ryan McGivern, 1:22 197 David Spangler dec. Todd Schmauss, 9-5 Saturday's Results 125 Jody Strittmatter dec. Luke Eustice, 8-2 133 Eric Juergens dec. Cliff Moore, 11-4 141 Doug Schwab pinned Justin Stanley, 1:08 149 Mike Zadick dec. Marc Juergens, 10-4 157 T.J. Williams maj. dec. Corey Stanley, 14-4 165 Ben Shirk dec. Matt Anderson, 3-1 174 Tyler Nixt dec. Gabe McMahan, 11-8 184 Jessman Smith pinned Scott Kauffman, 1:50 197 Ryan Fulsaas dec. David Spangler, 10-3 Hwt. Randy Fulsaas dec. Josh Liddle, 7-5
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.