Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

ASU Kicks Off Season At Titan Open

FULLERTON, Calif. A total of 12 Sun Devils placed, including runner-up finishes by freshman Mike Simpson, junior transfer Dana Holland, and sophomore Nick Frost as the Arizona State wrestling squad kicked off the 2000-01 season at the Cal State Fullerton Open, Sunday, Nov. 12 at Titan Gym in Fullerton, Calif. Simpson, competing in his first collegiate wrestling tournament, won four consecutive matches in the 125-pound weight class before falling to eventual champion Ruben Deleon from Cal State Bakersfield in the title match. Holland, also making his debut as a Sun Devil, won four straight matches in the 149-pound weight class, dropping eventually to Cal Poly's Cedric Hayman in the championship match. In the 165-pound weight class, Frost lost to Cal State Bakersfield's Ian Nelms in the title match after stringing together four previous wins as well. Additional ASU placewinners included sophomore Jeff Charlebois (third at 125), freshman Evan Larkin (fifth at 133), senior Dan Hyman (fifth at 141), junior Curtis Owen (fourth at 174), redshirt freshman Ron Renzi (fifth at 174), senior R.D. Pursell (third at 184), senior Mike Marshall (fourth at 184), sophomore Hector Torres (third at HWT) and sophomore Kellan Fluckinger (fourth at HWT). Up next for ASU, the Sun Devils will host an intra-squad match Wednesday, Nov. 12 at 8 p.m., followed by the Desert Duals, Friday, Nov. 24, in Wells Fargo Arena.
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.