Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Oklahoma State wins Reno Tournament of Champions college title

RENO, Nev. - Top-ranked Oklahoma State dominated the sixth annual Reno Tournament of Champions scoring 192.5 team points and crowning six individual champions Wednesday evening at the Reno Livestock and Events Center. Arizona State finished in second place with 120.5 points and two champions. Indiana was third with 111 team points, while Boise State was fourth. Cal Poly rounded out the top five, registering 75 points. In the most exciting match of the day, No. 2 Steve Blackford of ASU and No. 7 Ty Wilcox of OSU had the spectators in the Livestock and Events center on the edge of there seats. In the end, after two periods of scrambling, Blackford won 6-5 on riding time to claim the title. Another matchup of highly ranked wrestlers took place at 184 pounds where OSUšs eighth-ranked Daniel Cormier faced off with Indianašs No. 2 Victor Sveda. Cormier was in control the entire match,leading 9-3 before pinning the Hoosier in 5:43. Cormier also took home the outstanding wrestler award with his pin of Sveda and a 9-6 semifinal win over Oregonšs No. 4 Doug Lee. OSUšs second-ranked Mark Muņoz was also suprised by Boise Statešs eighth-ranked Rusty Cook 7-4. The loss was the first on the season for Muņoz. At heavyweight, Arizona Statešs Kellen Fluckiger locked up the second title of the day for the Sun Devils, winning a 5-3 decision over Oregonšs Eric Webb. An oddity occurred at 133 pounds where OSUšs third-ranked and top-seeded Charles Walker battled with teammate Johnny Thompson. The Reno Tournament of Champions allows each team to wrestle 13 wrestlers with 10 counting toward the team totals and three going unattached. Thompson, one of the Cowboys three unattached wrestlers, pulled the upset. Tied at 4-4 at the end of regulation, Thompson shot a double leg 30 seconds into sudden victory and took Walker to the mat for the winning takedown and a 6-4 win. Penn Statešs Nate Parker was hit with a stalling penalty midway through the third period, that proved to be the difference as Oklahoma Statešs Jerrod Sanders held on for a 2-1 win. The Cowboys added another individual title at 149 pounds where No. 3-ranked Reggie Wright decisioned Cal Polyšs Cedric Waymon 7-2. The first final not to feature an Oklahoma State wrestler took place at 157 pounds. Boise Statešs Kirk White, a 1999 NCAA Champion at 165 pounds, took on Arizona Statešs Rocky Smart. White jumped out to a three-point lead in the second period with an escape and a takedown, those points proved to be vital as White held on for a 3-2 win. At 174 pounds, OSUšs Tyrone Lewis made quick work of Cal Polyšs Steve Strange. Lewis arm barred Strange to his back and showed him the lights in just 30 seconds. The finals started at 125 pounds where OSU claimed its first individual title when Matt Brown decisioned Boise Statešs Ben Vonbaur 9-7.
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.