Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Rulon Gardner places sixth in Associated Press Male Athlete of the Year voting

Olympic Greco-Roman wrestling champion Rulon Gardner (Afton,Wyo./Sunkist Kids) placed sixth in the voting for the Associated Press Male Athlete of the Year. Professional golfer Tiger Woods was selected as the winner of the award. The only athletes who placed ahead of Gardner in the voting were Woods, cyclist Lance Armstrong, football player Kurt Warner, baseball player Pedro Martinez and basketball player Shaquille O'Neil. Gardner received three first place votes, the same number as Warner and Martinez. Only Woods and Armstrong had more first place votes. A total of 30 athletes, including both professional and amateur athletes, received votes in the balloting, which featured editors and broadcasters from 20 countries. The Associated Press has presented this award since 1931, and no wrestler has ever won. It was the second straight year that Woods received the award, the sixth athlete to win it in consecutive years. Gardner defeated Alexandre Kareline, a three-time Olympic champion and nine-time World champion, in the gold-medal finals at 286 pounds in Greco-Roman wrestling at the Sydney Olympic Games. Kareline had never lost a match on the international level until Gardner's outstanding achievement. Gardner was selected by his peers to carry the U.S. flag in the Closing Ceremonies at the Olympic Games. Since the Games have ended, Gardner has been a popular public figure, appearing on numerous national television shows and other public appearances. He was elected as the USOC SportsMan of the Year, only the second wrestler ever so honored. He also was named to The Sporting News' 100 Most Powerful list in sports, with a No. 80 ranking, one of only five athletes on the list. 2000 Associated Press Male Athlete of the Year (based on a 3-2-1 point system with first place votes in parentheses): 1. Tiger Woods (47), 160 pts. 2. Lance Armstrong (8), 72 pts. 3. Kurt Warner (3), 34 pts. 4. Pedro Martinez (3), 31 pts. 5. Shaquille O'Neal (1), 22 pts. 6. Rulon Gardner (3), 18 pts. 7. Jason Giambi (2), 13 pts. 8. Derek Jeter, 8 pts. 9. (tie) Marshall Faulk, 7 pts. 9. (tie) Josh Heupel (2), 7 pts. 11. Michael Johnson, 6 pts. 12. (tie) Lenny Krayzelburg (1), 5 pts. 12. (tie) Pete Sampras, 5 pts. 14. (tie) Felix Trinidad, 4 pts. 14. (tie) Michael Vick ,4 pts. 14. (tie) Chris Weinke, 4 pts. 17. (tie) Koby Bryant, 3 pts. 17. (tie) Randy Johnson (1), 3 pts. 17. (tie) Jeff Kent, 3 pts. 17. (tie) Bobby Labonte, 3 pts. 17. (tie) Karl Malone (1), 3 pts. 17. (tie) Ian Thorpe, 3 pts. 23. (tie) Rich Gannon, 2 pts. 23. (tie) Haile Gebrselassie, 2 pts. 23. (tie) Jaromir Jagr, 2 pts. 23. (tie) Lennox Lewis, 2 pts. 23. (tie) Randy Moss, 2 pts. 23. (tie) Pieter van den Hoogenband, 2 pts. 29. (tie) Maurice Greene, 1 pt. 29. (tie) Patrick Roy, 1 pt.
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.