Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Day Two Wrap-up From Advocare Cadet National Freestyle Championships

83.5 - In Pool A, Brad Canterbury of Pennsylvania, the only returning Cadet freestyle All-American, has made the roundrobin, along with Davey Mason of Oklahoma and Louis Bean of Idaho. Placing fourth in Pool A is Reese Whitely of Washington, who will battle in the seventh place match. In Pool B, a true finals has developed, between Willie Mayes of Georgia and Tyler Safratowich of Minnesota. The winner goes for the gold medal and the loser battles for bronze. Ian Tongol of California is third in the pool, and will be in the fifth-place match. Terry Jackson of Ohio is in the seventh-place bout, after taking fourth in Pool B. 88 - Pool A had gone down to a true finals, between Josh Hansen of Minnesota and Charlie Falck of Iowa. The winner goes for gold and the loser goes for third place. Taking third in the pool, and going for fifth place, is Mat Gardner of Oregon. Fourth in the pool, and going for seventh, is Jose Escobedo of Indiana. In Pool B, the roundrobin features Gabriel Mooney of Minnesota, Andrew Swanson of Oregon and Mike Compton of Ohio. Mooney was the 2000 Cadet National Greco-Roman champion. 94.5 - In Pool A, the roundrobin has been completed, including Drew Headlee of Pennsylvania, Christian Smith of Virginia and Bryan Nunziato of New Jersey. Smith was a runner-up last year at 83.5 pounds. Placing fourth in the pool was Juan Ramirez of California, who will battle for seventh place. In Pool B, four wrestlers remain alive: Michael Fessler of Missouri, Cody Garcia of Kansas, Jeff Taylor and Mack Reiter. Only Fessler and Reiter are unbeaten to this point. Reiter was a 2000 FILA Cadet National champion. 103.5 - In Pool A, four wrestlers remain in the race: returning Cadet National champion Tim Kephart of Missouri, plus Mark Throckmorton of Pennsylvania, Lyle Evans of Utah and Mark McKnight of Pennsylvania. Kephart and McKnight are unbeaten. In Pool B, returning National champion Nathan Morgan is in the roundrobin, along with Christian Staylor of Virginia and Justin Swafford of Iowa. 112 - Pool A is down to four wrestlers: Doug Hoover of Kansas, A.J. Lavender of Illinois, Max Meltzer of Maryland and Alex Tsirtsis of Indiana. Hoover was a Cadet freestyle All-American last year. Lavender, the 2000 Cadet Greco-Roman chamion, and Meltzer are still unbeaten. In Pool B, the final four are Matt Valenti of New Jersey, Kory Lira of Kansas, Derrick Fleenor of Oklahoma and Christian Bowerman of California. Valenti and Fleenor were All-Americans last year. Only Fleenor is unbeaten at this point. 121 - In Pool A, four wrestlers are still in the race: Michael Martin of Virginia, Eric Tannenbaum of Illinois, Jordan Sianni of Delaware and returning Cadet National freestyle champion Burke Barnes of Washington. Only Barnes is undefeated at this point. In Pool B, there are still four wrestling: Tony Franco of California, Justin Porter of Oklahoma, Jake Cook of South Dakota and Matt Collum of Illinois. All four wrestler have one loss at this time. Porter was an all-American in freestyle last year. 132 - Pool A is down to the roundrobin, with Clint Leonard of Idaho, Nick Baima of Illinois and returning Cadet National champion C.P. Schlatter of Ohio. Schlatter and Leonard are unbeaten at this time. In Pool B, the roundrobin will feature Kirk Main of Pennsylvania, Ryan Davis of Maryland and Chase Metcalf of Michigan. Scott Loescher of Oregon and Cale Griffin of Missouri placed fourth in their pools and will go for seventh place. 143 - Pool A has reached the roundrobin, with Joe Ferrara of Delaware, Jacob Schlottke of Minnesota and Nate Galloway of Pennsylvania in the battle. Galloway was a Cadet National freestyle All-American last year, also. A wrestle-off for fourth place in Pool A will be held between Brandon Guenot of Pennsylvania and Brandon Becker of New Jersey. Pool B has already determined its finalist, as Clay Chambers of Oklahoma has won the pool and will be in the gold-medal match. Patrick Pitsch of Washington and Alonzo Martinez of Nebraska will wrestle, to determine who goes for third and who goes for fifth. Fourth in the pool is Jake Yost of Tennessee, who will be going for seventh place. 154 - The Pool A roundrobin has been set: Dan Bedoy of Indiana, Gabe Conaghan of Kansas and Charles Jones of Oklahoma. Placing fourth in the pool was A.J. Morgan of Wisconsin, who will be battling for seventh place. Pool B still has four wrestlers alive: Nick Terbay of Ohio, Kevin Fox of New Jersey, Reggie Ross of Idaho and James Schultz of Indiana. Terbay is the only unbeaten wrestler in the pool to date. 167 - Pool A has four wrestlers alive: Keith O'Donnell of New Jersey, Roger Kish of Michigan, J.D. Bergman of Ohio and Geoffrey Miller of Maryland. O'Donnell and Kish are unbeaten at this time. Kish, who was third in freestyle last year, was also the 2000 Greco-Roman champion. Pool B is down to the final four: John Giuliano of Illinois, Jack Jensen of Wisconsin, Jared Villers of Ohio and Hetag Pliev of Ohio. Hensen and Pliev are unbeaten. 182.5 - Pool A has reached its roundrobin: Mike Waite of New Jersey, Matthew Kallai of Ohio and Dustin Docter of Illinois. Placing fourth in the pool is Chris Weidman of New York, who will battle for seventh place. Kallai was an All-American last year, as well. Pool B is down to four athletes: B.J. Frazier of Michigan, Brent Parkey of Oklahoma, Eric Smith of Idaho and 1999 Cadet National All-American Aaron Keough of Ohio. Parkey and Keough are unbeaten. 209 - Pool A has reached four competitors: Spencer Nadolsky of Michigan, Grant Miller of Illinois, Jake O'Brien of Indiana and Joshua Sears of Ohio. Miller was the 2000 Cadet National Greco-Roman champion. Nadolsky and O'Brien are unbeaten. In Pool B, the last four wrestlers are Zach Pierson of Indiana, Stephen Juarez of California, Chad Espnoza of Nevada and Bridger Sacher of Oregon. Pierson and Espinoza are unbeaten. 242 - Pool A has reached the roundrobin: Kelly Anundsen of Washington, Jared Bonnell of Missouri and Albert Childress of Virginia. Placing fourth in Pool A is Chris Hendershot of Indiana. Pool B has been completed. Going for gold is pool winner Chris Finn of Oklahoma, a returning Cadet freestyle All-American. Going for third is Josh Bresnahan of Minnesota. Going for fifth is Joe Sapp of Illinois. Going for seventh is Derek Liggett of Wisconsin.
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.